Delta Rae’s Power Performance in Austin Had Me Hooked

New label, new tour, and a slightly new sound has Delta Rae ready to move audiences.

David Onoue
UTIOM
3 min readAug 15, 2017

--

It’s Monday morning. I’m sitting at my desk going through my normal work routine waiting for my computer to power up. I launch Spotify on my phone, and instead of going to my “work” playlist, I search for Delta Rae and start jamming out to their latest EP, A Long And Happy Life.

I saw the band from Durham, North Carolina perform a spirited concert at The Parish in Austin, Texas, over three weeks ago, yet I find myself still listening to their music. It reminded me of my first country concert, Lady Antebellum, after which I just couldn’t stop listening to their music weeks after the concert.

Delta Rae — No Peace In Quiet, The Parish, Austin, TX, July 21, 2017

Delta Rae is not new to the music scene — they formed back in 2009 — but the band hadn’t experienced a commercial breakthrough until recently when they signed with Valory Music Co. (under Big Machine Label Group) and released their new EP. The title track, “A Long And Happy Life,” is Delta Rae’s first song to make it onto country radio, and the album showcases a more mature and radio-ready sound.

The band’s key members are three siblings: Ian, Eric and Brittany Hölljes, along with Elizabeth (Liz) Hopkins. They’ve drawn comparisons to likes of Little Big Town and Lady Antebellum with their soulful harmonies.

Those bright harmonies were on full display from their opening rendition of the Eagles “Seven Bridges Road,” which transitioned smoothly into “I Moved South.”

The setlist was masterfully put together and created a musical journey from country to folk-rock, soul, and a little rock n’ roll. Liz and Brittany front the band with Eric jumping in and taking the lead for a few songs.

The dynamic between Liz and Brittany is quite interesting. Vocally, the two couldn’t be more different. Brittany has a unique sultry tone that comes off as very folkish, while Liz brings a raspy upper register and rich mainstream sound. However, when you put them together, it works. Add the Hölljes brothers to round out the sound and magic happens.

What I love about Delta Rae is the free-spirited essence of their music which takes you to many different places.

In “Ain’t Love,” the song starts off very pop-country with a galloping guitar strumming pattern and a hint of the steel guitar. As the song progresses to the pre-chorus and chorus, there is a build up reminiscent of an EDM song that doesn’t hit as hard.

Then there’s “Bottom Of The River” which is dark and melodic, one of the crowd favorites. Foots were stomping, shaking the floor, and people were captivated by the ambiance of the song.

It’s also worth noting the band started Tickets for Teachers to honor educators who inspire and challenge individuals to be the best versions of themselves. At each show, they give away two free tickets to a deserving teacher and acknowledge them during the show. Very cool!

The encore song was a mash-up of “Dance In The Graveyards” and Whitney Houston’s hit, “I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me),” which got everyone in the venue dancing and singing along.

My snaps from the concert

Delta Rae is a group I’ve had my eye on for a few years and to be honest, I wasn’t sure if they’d ever get the mainstream attention they deserved. However, I love the polished sound of the new EP, and seeing them live is the only way to truly appreciate how powerful of a live act they are.

Delta Rae just might have a long and happy life.

Be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews!

--

--