‘I’m the One’ is the contagious summer jam we hate to love

Unfortunately, Biebs does his thing. Chance makes this track worthy of the hype.

Kevin Sowkey
UTIOM
3 min readMay 10, 2017

--

I love this DJ Khaled. He’s not a producer. He’s not a writer. He doesn’t rap or sing. What he does do, better than anyone else, is be 230 pounds of boss, and not like a shitty boss either. He’s the type of boss that’ll smoke a blunt with you while he’s telling you everything you’re doing wrong, but make you feel great about it.

On to the Track:

Production:

  • Summer Anthem 2017
  • Not entirely sure how/why DJ Khaled gets a production credit, but okay.
  • Hopefully I won’t get tired of this track by the time summer actually starts.

Chorus (J Biebs):

Damnit, DJ Khaled. I’m not supposed to like Bieber. Chance and Ed Sheeran are making that hard enough on me. Not you too.

But actually, it’s perfect. What more could you ask for on a hook? It has a huge name that’ll draw in a pop crowd, and it’s catchy enough to not alienate the rap crowd.

I’m willing to bet Bieber actually wrote it himself, seeing as it’s super simplistic and self-praising. Bieber rhymes “intimidators” with “intimidate ya.”

My reaction when Bieber tries to give us bars.

Verse 1 (Quavo a.k.a. Not Offset):

Honestly, I don’t really understand the hype around Quavo. Is it just me? Like, he’s cool and everything, and he is the biggest personality in Migos. But if we’re talking rap, gimmie Offset.

It’s not awful by any means, but comparatively, I was bored by this verse. Don’t @ me.

Verse 2 (Lil Chano from 79th):

Besides Biebs, Chance is the only one who sounds like he belongs on this beat. Both Wayne and Quavo sound like they’re reaching a bit. Not saying they were bad, Chance is just the man.

We don’t got no label/She say she want bottles/ She ain’t got no table/ She don’t got no bed frame/ She don’t got no tables/ We just watchin’ Netflix/ She ain’t got no cable/ Okay though. — He’s so flowy and cool. Any other rapper spits this and it’s alright. Chance does it and it’s adorable.

Verse 3 (Weezy F Baby):

Is Weezy F. Baby still a thing?

I really like Lil Wayne, half of the time. The other half, I still like him but I hate myself for it. He’s so quotable in everything he does, good and bad.

Oh my God! She hit me up all day, get no response/ Bitch, you blow my high, that’s like turnin’ gold to bronze/Roll my eyes.

His rhymes never fail to get stuck in my head for months.

Outro:

Dear Mister Biebs,

Drake is from Toronto. That’s his excuse for using a Caribbean accent. You are from London, Ontario. Now, I have never visited your hometown, but from the lovely virtual tour I took of Canadian London on Wikipeadia, I noticed a lack of a Caribbean population.

Stop it Bieber. This is your one and only warning.

I’m serious,

Kevin

What Do I Think?:

Super interesting collab that’ll get hella play all summer ‘17 (all summer ‘17). Unfortunately, the Biebs works really well. Khaled is a magician. The Chance verse is personally my favorite —

When I met her in the club I asked her who she felt/ Then she went and put that booty on that Gucci belt.

Grade:

6.75/10

P.S:

Don’t try me Beiber. I mean it.

--

--

Kevin Sowkey
UTIOM
Editor for

Est. 1994. Writer&Editor for UTIOM. Lyricist&Bassist for Tired of Insanity.