Fall Out Boy- Young and Menace (prod. Jesse Shatkin & Fall Out Boy)

Kevin Sowkey
UTIOM
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2017

Fall Out Boy & I:

In music, you’re either a fan of the music, or a fan of the artist. You can be both, but there is a clear distinction between the two. When a band grows and evolves, and possibly changes their sound, fans of their original sound may leave. Fans of the artist are in it for the long-haul, good or bad. I place myself in both categories when it comes to Fall Out Boy.

They are, by far, my favorite band of all-time. I’m such a sucker for emotional, angsty, teenage pop-punk lyrics, and Pete Wentz is king in that category. I could talk about them for days, so I’ll stop myself now.

On to the Track:

· Production:

- Um….It’s super clean? The entire track is very well produced, especially the electronic parts.

- Personally, I prefer it when FOB sticks to their punk/alternative sound (circa. From Under the Cork Tree), but I won’t knock what they’re doing here. I’m getting a Chainsmokers vibe, but more hardcore. It’ll definitely get radio play.

· Verse 1:

We’ve gone way too fast for way too long and we were never supposed to make it half this far//And I lived so much life, lived so much life, I think that God is gonna have to kill me twice.

-Pete Wentz is an incredible lyricist. No matter what genre Fall Out Boy falls in, you can always expect the same emo kid from 2005 penning the poetry.

-Here, Wentz is lamenting on FOB’s career. From small venues around Chicago to stadiums around the world, FOB has definitely broken barriers for bands like DNCE to enter the pop scene.

· Chorus 1:

Oops I, did it again, I//forgot what I was losing my mind about//Oh, I only wrote this down to make you press rewind// and send a message that I was Young and a Menace.

-Something tells me Patrick Strump is responsible for the Brittany Spears reference.

· Drop 1:

-There is where old-school FOB fans may want to turn the track off.

-I knew this was going to happen before I heard the song. FOB has been leaning this way ever since their return from hiatus with Save Rock & Roll in 2013. There are two general reactions:

1) “Okay. It’s not what I’m used to hearing, but I can dig it.”

2) “No. No no no. No no no no.”

-I fall into the former, although I can understand the latter’s perspective. It’s not old FOB, but it’s not 2007 anymore. My only issue with this specific section of the track is that it lasts about 20 seconds too long. I would’ve preferred if the second verse came in sooner.

· Verse 2:

Woke up on the wrong side of reality// and there’s a madness that’s just coursing right through me//And as far as the time, far as the time,// not sure I’m there yet but I’m searching out the ride.

-More of Pete being Pete. Ever since their return from hiatus, FOB’s songs have a central theme of immortality through music and their place in history as a band.

· Chorus & Drop 2:

-The only difference between the first and second chorus is that the second time around, they shorten the drop. I’m not sure if I’m happy that they cut it short this time or if I’m mad that they didn’t do it the first time.

· Bridge:

If I am off the deep end/ I’m just here to become the best yet./ I’m just here for the psych assessment./ I’m just here for the…The…

-Classic FOB. My favorite part of the track.

What Do I Think?:

Joe Trohman, aged 32

- I love this track, but I also have an unconditional, burning love for Fall Out Boy, so I can’t be completely objective.

- Fans of only FOB’s pre-hiatus music won’t be listening to this track too often.

- Fans of FOB in general, who have been waiting 3 years for something new, will be pleased to hear Patrick’s voice singing Pete’s words once again.

-But like, where’s the guitar??

Grade:

6/10*

*9/10 if it were a Chainsmokers song

--

--

Kevin Sowkey
UTIOM
Editor for

Est. 1994. Writer&Editor for UTIOM. Lyricist&Bassist for Tired of Insanity.