‘Fly’ by Nicki Minaj ft Rihanna

God never gives you more than you can handle. You just have to believe in yourself to overcome your obstacles.

Jasmine Gomez
UTIOM
2 min readSep 8, 2017

--

“When I was in high school I was voted on homecoming court and we had to walk out to music at an assembly. I chose to mix together two songs. The main one was “She Got A Donk” by Soulja Boy (which I did twerk to in front of the whole school by the way). And the other song was “Fly” by Nicki Minaj featuring Rihanna. Every time I hear the chorus to that song it instantly makes me feel more confident. Whether I’m feeling insecure about my career, my appearance, or a relationship, I know I can play that song to raise my spirits. That song reminds me that no matter how hard shit gets I can always pull through. God never gives you more than you can handle. You just have to believe in yourself to overcome your obstacles.”

Cause I am not a word/ I am not a line/ I’m not a girl that could ever be defined/ I am not fly/ I am levitation/ I represent an entire generation. I hear the criticism loud and clear/ That is how I know that the time is near

Fly — Nicki Minaj ft Rihanna

Read this post on the Song Story Series Instagram. Send your stories to contactutiom@gmail.com.

Song Story Series is an exploration of the ways in which music and life cross paths. Documenting experiences, one song at a time.

Curated by Jasmine Gomez

--

--

Jasmine Gomez
UTIOM

Grad Student @NewhouseSU | Contributing writer @Syracusedotcom | Music & Culture Enthusiast | Email me jgomez01@syr.edu. IG: SongStorySeries