Inside Scoop: Daybreaker

Learn all about this awesome music/fitness/wellness movement sweeping the nation!

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
3 min readAug 6, 2017

--

Daybreaker is a movement of like-minded individuals who gather together to promote positivity, a love for life, well being, and above all, fun! This is not your typical dance party… it’s an EARLY morning ALCOHOL FREE dance party.

Now you must be thinking, this girl is suggesting I get up early and go to a crazy dance party and dance without any alcohol in my system? Well, yes thats exactly what I am saying — you don’t need alcohol to have a great time, to let loose, connect with the music and others around you. One may argue it’s BETTER to be sober because, well… no hangover!

The event starts with some a fitness workout around 6 a.m. Yoga is always offered, but sometimes other workout options like a cardio circuit class or dance class are offered. Then, there is a two hour dance party from 7 a.m. to 9 a.m. There are healthy snacks, treats, and different vendors giving away healthy product samples (yes, coffee is one of them). Each event is always themed so people show up decked out in crazy costumes.

I have attended two Daybreakers so far, both in Boston. The first was the animal kingdom boat party and the second was Camp Daybreaker in Faneuil Hall. I was a little nervous going into the event not knowing many people attending or what to expect. Regardless, I found myself breaking out my college frat party theme wardrobe and getting ready for something new and exciting. I had heard great things through social media, and taking a look at the Daybreaker website made me want to see what all the hype was about.

Me at Animal Boat Party Boston Daybreaker

The moment I arrived, I was greeted with huge smiles, hugs, and so much energy from the welcome/check-in crew. I didn’t know many people attending, but I recognized some people from the group fitness scene in Boston. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly that it didn’t matter that I didn’t have a crew to hangout with the entire time. We were stuck on this boat for a few hours and gonna have a grand old time.

After the morning yoga/cardio session, the boat set sail and the DJ took over. The music was bumping with tropical vibes that made you want to move. Most of the music was EDM/dance with flavors of pop and latin tunes as well. There were crazy props and inflatables that people brought on board to party with and throw around the dance floor. Everyone was moving and grooving to the music and dance circles would pop up for those brave enough to hop into the center and show off their best moves to the crowd.

It felt just as good as a great night of dancing but just moved to the morning, and with no alcohol (or hangover)! Afterwards, I arrived at work and felt like I had so much energy to tackle my workday. I was on top of the world.

Boston Camp Daybreaker Yoga Session

Each Daybreaker ends with an intention card that leads you out into your day. They are working to foster an accepting, positive, fun, healthy community and want to send you out into the world with something to keep in mind.

Daybreaker Intention Card

Check out this spotify playlist that may put you in a low key tropical dance mood! It’s one of my personal favs :)

--

--

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
Writer for

AKA Trinz- EDM freak, spin obsessed, love to dance, bad and basic