Miami Boys’ ‘Let’s Get Freaky’ is what a real summer song sounds like

An ode to South Florida and its signature music no one outside of the state understands.

Steph Smalls
UTIOM
3 min readAug 11, 2017

--

It’s been a while since I’ve spent a full summer in my home area code of 954/Broward County. When I think back on that invaluable time of a summer break we had as kids and teens, I’m always reminded of my days at summer camp in Lauderdale Lakes. *throws two L’s up*

It was during those days that I first heard some of the greatest Florida tracks like “Bass Gonna Blow Your Mind,” “Jacksonville Whoop,” “Take it to the Mo,” and a song I don’t even really know the title of but we called the “Bus Stop.” (I have since found out that it’s Kilo Ali’s “Freak How You Want It”)

Every song came with a dance and if by chance it didn’t already have one, we gave it one. These songs may have been underground to the rest of the nation, but it was typical to hear one of them easily cross over on the local radio station, 99 Jamz, during a rush hour mix. While any of these songs conjures a summer field trip to Galaxy Skateway or a friendly “popping” contest amongst friends — for me, “Let’s Get Freaky” positions itself as an ultimate summer jam because it stands the test of time.

Cliché right? But really, listen to me. This song followed me from those days in Broward County all the way to Tallahassee as I attended Florida State University (GO NOLES). Remember when I said if the song didn’t have a dance to it, we’d give it one? I found the song’s dance while in Tallahassee. One so intricate that if you weren’t paying attention to your steps you could hurt yourself. It took me until sophomore year to really have it down pat.

source: Ac00kie2008

FSU’s campus center The Union, local clubs like Coliseum, across the tracks at Florida A&M University, at a pool party, and a Black Student Union (BSU) event: there was no function this song or its dance couldn’t reach. As much as it traveled up through Florida, its steel drum chords, tropical rhythm, and singsong hook with a high-tempo rap always reflected its Miami/Lauderdale roots.

The further I get from South Florida, the more I miss it and its unique culture. To the outside, it may seem like a summer destination solely residing in Miami. But if you’re from there you know it’s about Miami/Dade County, but it’s also about Lauderdale, Pompano, Lauderdale Lakes, even West Palm Beach. I must also shout out Coral Springs, which truly makes SoFlo one of a kind.

During those summer camp days and even into high school with songs like “Ecstacy,” and “Stickin’ n’ Rollin’,” those Florida songs we couldn’t find on iTunes, but had to burn from Limewire, are some of the greatest classics mainstream may never hear. And that’s okay, because they’re ours to have. But just know that if you ever see me in my car, windows down, blasting a sped-up, rhythmic, bass popping song — jookin my shoulders from side to side — it’s because I rep that number one area code … Floridians, you know the rest.

Be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews!

--

--

Steph Smalls
UTIOM

entertainment connoisseur&laugh addict&inclusion advocate | Editor for UTIOM