Music and Sports: A Pair That Will Never Be Broken

Damn, I swear sports and music are so synonymous.

Jacqueline Mundry
UTIOM
4 min readOct 12, 2017

--

Music has the ability to bring you back to a time and place. When I hear certain songs I can pinpoint exactly where I was and what I was doing when I heard them. For example, whenever I hear “Give Me Everything” by Pitbull I am immediately brought back to my senior prom. No matter where I am or what I’m doing, I may as well be back in my purple, floor length dress, dancing with my best friends. Every song has a story for everyone, including athletes.

Fans love finding ways to relate to their favorite athletes, so reporters ask what their favorite food or fondest childhood memory is, what they do to relax and what TV shows they like to binge watch.

Inevitably, reporters and other interviewers ask professional athletes, “What kind of music do you listen to before a big game?” Have you ever seen an athlete enter the arena without their beats on? No. Athletes listen to music because they enjoy it and it helps them focus. In 2015, Draymond Green told Sports Illustrated that his pre-game playlist includes “Drinks on Us” by Mike Will Made-It, “Flicka Da Wrist” by Chedda da Connect and “10 Bands” by Drake.

It feels like music is constantly playing in the background of our lives. I think this is because it enhances almost every aspect of life, including our workouts. I can’t imagine going for a run or doing any sort of physical activity without music playing. And I think that’s pretty common for athletes across the board. Whether it be mediocre runners like me, or professional athletes like Lebron James.

Everyone has their own taste in music. Tyler Lydon, a former Syracuse forward and current Denver Nugget, said he used to try to sneak some country music in their practice playlists because it got him excited to play. Regardless of the type of music, it all serves one purpose: to benefit players on the field, court, ice, diamond or wherever else they may play.

But in 2007, the New York City Marathon made international headlines when they banned music from the race. This was part of a bigger ban that was brought into effect by USA Track and Field due to tactical communications between runner and coach. Many people responded to this ban with the question many of you probably have right now — why separate athletes and their music?

According to researchers, Costas Karageorghis and Peter Terry, music has the potential to elicit a small but significant effect on performance. Scientists and researchers have found five key ways that music influences preparation and competitive performances: dissociation, arousal regulation, synchronization, acquisition of motor skills, and attainment of flow.

Not only does music benefit the athletes, but also the fans. I can’t imagine watching a Patriots game and not seeing Tom Brady run out to Jay-Z’s voice saying, “Allow me to reintroduce myself!” It lets fans know that TB12 is taking the field.

And in baseball, every single player has their walk-up song. Imagine players walking up to the bat like they’re walking to their car? It just wouldn’t be the same. Athletes love music and musicians love athletes. How many times have we seen Drake court side at a basketball game? In Drake’s “Thank Me Now,” he says, “Damn, I swear sports and music are so synonymous, ’cause we want to be them, and they want to be us.”

Many musicians love sports, and according to Drake, may even want to be athletes — so much so that they’ll write their music about it, like Flo Rida’s “Game Time.”

Some famous athletes have even dabbled in music themselves. 15-time all star and four-time NBA champion Shaquille O’Neal recorded a hip-hop album in 1992 which sold 864,000 copies. Although I’m sure basketball fans are happy he decided to stick to the court, there was a time that Shaq may have wished he was more like Drake.

Simply put, music and sports are not that different. People go to both games and concerts because they’re passionate about what they’re about to see or hear. Some of us love sports, some of us love music, and for those of us who love both, the intersection of the two is something truly beautiful.

Check out what we’re listening to, and be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews.

--

--