Pink’s Outfit at the VMA’s Made An Empowering Statement

Between her suit and her speech, you can’t get much more bad-ass than that.

Kayla Boyd
UTIOM
3 min readAug 29, 2017

--

Photo via pink/Instagram

Last night’s MTV Video Music Awards had quite a few memorable moments, a lot of political statements, some pretty good performances, and many great fashion choices. But, the true star of the night, hands down, was the recipient of the Michael Jackson Video Vanguard Award, Pink. From the moment she walked in until she exited the building, she came to make a statement — and it was one that we all needed to hear.

She arrived on the red carpet in a classy pinstripe suit and tie. Not only was this perfectly tailored look chic and sophisticated, but it was also representative of the fact that women don’t have to wear gowns on the red carpet anymore. Gender norms are becoming less and less relevant and Pink’s outfit reminded us that not only is a woman allowed to wear whatever she wants, whenever she wants, but she can also look amazing in something that is typically considered to be masculine.

Being androgynous is beautiful, artistic, and meaningful and not only did Pink demonstrate all of this in her wardrobe choice, but she also spoke on it in her inspiring acceptance speech.

In her speech she told a heartwarming story about a conversation she had with her daughter:

“Recently, I was driving my daughter to school and she said to me, out of the blue, ‘Mama?’ I said, ‘Yes, baby?’ She said, ‘I’m the ugliest girl I know.’ And I said, ‘Huh?’ And she was like, ‘Yeah, I look like a boy with long hair.

…And I said to her, ‘Do you see me growing my hair?’ She said, ‘No, Mama.’ I said, ‘Do you see me changing my body?’ ‘No, Mama.’ ‘Do you see me changing the way I present myself to the world?’ ‘No, Mama.’ ‘Do you see me selling out arenas all over the world?’ ‘Yes, Mama.’ ‘OK! So, baby girl. We don’t change. We take the gravel and the shell and we make a pearl. And we help other people to change so they can see more kinds of beauty.”

This speech touched on everything that young girls and women need to be constantly reminded of. Love your body, embrace your differences, don’t let society tell you how to act or how to dress, and above all see different kinds of beauty (both in others and within yourself).

What made this fashion statement (and the speech) even more powerful was the fact that her family matched her. By dressing her 6-year-old daughter Willow in a suit and telling her in front of millions of people that she is beautiful is a prime example of instilling confidence into young girls. What Pink did was tell her daughter that she is allowed to dress “like a boy” and she can act like one too and no matter what, that doesn’t make her any less beautiful.

Pink is more than awesome music, funny videos, and funky androgynous fashion — she is a role model and she proved that at the VMAs. She took her time on stage and on the red carpet to remind us that there is no “standard” or “typical” way to be beautiful. Girls can be masculine, guys can be feminine, and we can all be whoever or whatever the hell we want to be. All that matters is that we respect each others’ beauty.

Congratulations Pink and thanks for being a kick-ass icon!

You can stream some of Pink’s greatest hits below:

Subscribe to our newsletter! And be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews!

--

--