My Favorite Song from High School: “Best I Ever Had” by Drake

The story of how I stumbled upon Aubrey Graham

Kiran Swamy
UTIOM
2 min readMay 6, 2017

--

I remember the first time I heard Drake… I was a 14 year-old, high school freshman and new to hip-hop culture. This was back in the day of YouTubing new songs that may or may not have been fan made “Lil Wayne type beats.” I came across this playboy by the name of “Drizzy Drake”, and apparently he was in Degrassi (I was not a Degrassi fan by any means).

At first, I was confused because I thought it was Lil Wayne rapping and a feature of this Drake character who’s singing the hook. Little did I know, Drake is doing both. I’ve never really heard of a rapper who can spit bars AND sing like Jamie Foxx.

“Best I Ever Had” was the perfect high school cuffing-season anthem. Not only did it sound like that lovey-dovey, feel good type of rhythm, the lyrics got everyone in the feels.

“And you don’t even have to ask twice/ You could have my heart or we could share it like the last slice/ Always felt like you was so accustomed to the fast life/ Have a — thinking that he met you in a past life/Sweatpants, hair tied, chillin’ with no make-up on, That’s when you’re the prettiest, I hope that you don’t take it wrong”

Gets me every time… I’ll give it to Drake, this was the first time I noticed that he does a great job of invoking heart-throbbing emotion. This single opened the door to him being my favorite artist during my high school days. Each project he put out was provided the soundtrack to countless memories. He’s come a long way since, but this track marks Drake’s entrance into the game. And what an entrance it was.

Listen below:

--

--