Rihanna Is Taking Over The Beauty World

And it’s about damn time!

Kayla Boyd
UTIOM
4 min readOct 10, 2017

--

Photo by Kayla Boyd

About a month ago, Rihanna changed the game. And this time it wasn’t with a hot music video or a new Puma shoe, instead she decided to bless our lives with Fenty Beauty. Her collection of foundations, primer, contour and shimmer sticks, and essential lipgloss were highly anticipated and well worth the wait.

The crowded display with Rihanna’s picture on it had women of all skin colors reaching for products, testing them in the mirrors, and asking workers for help — it was overwhelming, but magical at the same time.

I’ve loved Rihanna’s music since the “Pon de Replay” days, and I respect all of her work so much that I even dished out $160 for a pair of the satin bow sneakers from her Fenty Puma shoe line. Now, with a full clothing line of moderately expensive (but dope as hell) jackets, tops, dresses, and more, Riri’s empire is continuing to expand.

A few days after Fenty Beauty launched, I decided to treat myself to a couple of the products that everyone was raving about. When I walked into Sephora, I could immediately tell which section of the store it was being sold in. The crowded display with Rihanna’s picture on it had women of all skin colors reaching for products, testing them in the mirrors, and asking workers for help — it was overwhelming, but magical at the same time.

Instead of spending the time to wait in line for a worker’s help and test a bunch of different foundation shades (I’ll touch on that in a minute), I just quickly grabbed two things without even testing them. I got the “Gloss Bomb Universal Lip Luminizor” ($18) and the “Killawatt Freestyle Highlighter” in “Trophy Wife” ($34).

Photo by Kayla Boyd

I’m OBSESSED. “Trophy Wife” makes a beautiful highlighter and eyeshadow. The gold shimmer looks so captivating on and it never fails to get compliments. The lipgloss is truly poppin’. It’s shiny, but not sticky, and it looks great by itself or layered on top of a matte lipstick. Since I bought them, I’ve been wearing them both almost daily.

It’s completely absurd that it took someone this long to get it right, but I’m glad it was Rihanna who did.

Not only are these products amazing, but the foundation line is actually a groundbreaking achievement. Although I haven’t been able to try it yet, the “Pro Filt’r” foundation ($34) comes in a whopping 40 shades! Typically, women of color are faced with a selection of 3 to 4 shades: medium, dark, and darker. In case the beauty industry was unaware, there are WAY more variations in skin color, and it’s disrespectful and discriminatory when a makeup line offers 10 different shades of white, three shades of black, and maybe one or two in between. It’s completely absurd that it took someone this long to get it right, but I’m glad it was Rihanna who did.

I am not only looking forward to finding my perfect shade of foundation from Rihanna’s line, but I also planning on purchasing from her upcoming holiday collection. It drops on October 13 and will include an eyeshadow palette and lipsticks.

Rihanna really knew what she was doing when she decided to diversify the beauty space, and it’s something that women of color have been waiting for far too long. From the campaigns to the actual products, it’s clear that anyone is welcome to wear this line and you will most likely look incredibly fabulous when you do. If you haven’t tried Fenty Beauty yet, then I would highly recommend giving it a try.

Stream Rihanna’s 2016 album ANTI below:

Check out what we’re listening to! And be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews.

--

--