‘Scary Hours’ and My 10th Year of Fandom

Drake is picking up right where he left off from ‘More Life.’

Kiran Swamy
UTIOM
2 min readJan 23, 2018

--

As promised at the conclusion of “More Life,” Drake is BACK in 2018. He surprised the world by dropping his EP Scary Hours at midnight on January 19th. It features two songs: “God’s Plan” and “Diplomatic Immunity,” both of which, sound on par with any type of sound OVO has put out.

“Takin’ summer off, ’cause they tell me I need recovery/ Maybe gettin’ back to my regular life will humble me/ I’ll be back in 2018 to give you the summary”

“God’s Plan,” the first track on the EP, sounds reminiscent of “Headlines” off of Take Care. It’s a lively beat that complements Drake’s trademark singing/rapping combo. The feel-good track talks about Drizzy’s God-given successes and the unwarranted hate or envy that comes with the territory.

“Diplomatic Immunity” takes on a different tone. In typical Drake fashion, he throws his shade to whomever he feels necessary. The song itself is without a chorus, nonstop bars over a James Bond-esque beat. He didn’t fail to dabble with his emotions in this track, all while alluding to his relationship with Jennifer Lopez.

2010 was when I lost my halo/ 2017 I lost a J. Lo/ A Rotterdam trip had me on front page though/ I had to lay low, Hot Topic like your everyday clothes.

Drake’s style has certainly evolved since he first started. Mixtape Drake was more of a rapper, while on Take Care, he showcased his R&B roots. Future-assisted What a Time to Be Alive showed his trap side, while he explored his pop style (pun intended) on “Hotline Bling” and “Passionfruit.” And while songs like “30 for 30” and “You & The 6” show the authentic Drake, “Madiba Riddim” and “Blem” diversified his portfolio with the styles of dancehall and reggae.

For his next work, #1 on my wish list is a concept album. Sometimes it seems he releases music just for the sake of putting something out. I want something with substance. But remember, the final words of “More Life” do foreshadow something special.

Nonetheless, these tracks have me hyped for Drake’s next album. Although one can argue that Scary Hours sounds like more of the same, who cares? If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. It is hard to believe that I’ve been listening to Drake for (a little over) ten years now. I would be lying if I said that I don’t look forward to everything he puts out. Hit after hit, he delivers.

Check out what we’re listening to! And be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews.

--

--