TBH: “Look What You Made Me Do” is underwhelming

Taylor Swift just dropped a new single and this is how I’m feeling…

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
4 min readAug 26, 2017

--

What started out as mass confusion when Taylor Swift went and scrubbed her social media accounts last Friday became extreme excitement over a new single and album release date. She announced the new single and release date of her next album Reputation on November 10th with the head of a snake and three other posts:

Screenshot of Taylor’s instagram on Wednesday

If you’re wondering what the snake is all about, it all started with her break up with Calvin Harris. Around the same time, Swift entered into a disagreement with Kim Kardashian and Kanye West over the use of her name in West’s song “Famous.” The hashtag “#taylorswiftisasnake” began sweeping Twitter and the snake emoji was used as a comment on her Instagram posts by many supporters of Harris, West, and Kardashian.

Now Swift has responded by taking ownership of the snake. With a declarative album name, which I personally love, Swift seems to be making a statement against the haters that she is in control of her own reputation. Well, the new single was released late last night and after listening on repeat for at least 25 times these are my thoughts:

I was intrigued by the beginning of the song, the magical tones that draw you in and her voice talking/singing the first verse “I don’t like your little games/ don’t like your tilted stage.” Hmmm she sounds pissed off, maybe we’ll have another “I Knew You Were Trouble” on our hands…

Then the pre-chorus hits and the music gets faster:

“But I got smarter, I got harder in the knick of time/ I’ve got a list of names and yours is in red underline”

Girl sounds like she is out for revenge!! She has to be talking about the Kim/Kanye/Katy drama.

“Oooh look what you made me do/ look what you made me do/ look what you made me do”

That is the chorus repeated over and over again. That was the suspenseful build up I was waiting for?!

The song samples the familiar tune of the song “I’m Too Sexy” and not in a good way. OK, maybe it’s a little catchy. I can see girls singing it to each other in bars, but I am left wanting way more. Since Taylor is such a big influence on young women, I thought the lyrics would be more meaningful, not boring and repetitive.

And at the end of the bridge is the line:

“I’m sorry the old Taylor can’t come to the phone right now/ Why? Because she’s dead”

This lyric shines light on why she deleted her social media accounts — she wants to get away from her old image. I thought with her 1989 pop album Swift had already reinvented herself, but I guess she is stepping even further away from that image.

As a big Taylor Swift fan I’m left underwhelmed by this single. Look what you made me do? Why is she blaming others for her actions, and why does this song sound just like every other generic pop song? Is she even really singing that much? Where is her talent?

We’ll see if the song grows on me. There is no doubt that Taylor is the queen of catchy, and since she is such a household name, I wouldn’t be surprised if this song goes #1. Do I think it deserves #1? Probably not. I don’t think this is her best work at all: with her very basic lyrics, sampling a chorus from another song, and lukewarm vocals, it leaves something to be desired.

Maybe I’m just missing the old Taylor Swift. I’m a sucker for her heartfelt ballads and emotional lyrics. Fearless and Speak Now are my favorite albums, but I was still a big fan of Red and 1989, so I’m hopeful that Reputation will be able to deliver some better music in November.

Take a listen for yourself and let me know your thoughts! Also, Sunday night tune into the VMAs because Swift announced she will be releasing the music video there and after that “Bad Blood” video, I’m excited for something even more epic. Looking forward to seeing what else she has in store for us.

Subscribe to our newsletter! And be sure to follow us on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook for more music updates and reviews!

--

--

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
Writer for

AKA Trinz- EDM freak, spin obsessed, love to dance, bad and basic