Where My Love of EDM All Began…

Hands down, the first EDM song I remember connecting to was Avicii’s EPIC “Levels.”

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
3 min readJul 5, 2017

--

That steady beat could have me fist pumping and jumping all around for hours…put that song on repeat please I dare you — I know I wouldn’t get sick of it! Let’s just say whenever and wherever this song comes on, I lose it on the dance floor and afterwards I’m always sweating.

“Levels” is instantly recognizable from its symbol-heavy intro. Then the beat comes in and we are partying! There is no epic bass drop in this song (which I am usually a fan of), but the steady buildup keeps me dancing for hours. Avicii creates musical “levels” as the song progresses, adding in different sounds that build on top of each other. The melodic sounds keep it interesting throughout. Let’s also not forget the famous vocal from Etta James:

Ohhhh sometimes, I get a good feeling, yeah/ Get a feeling that I never, never, never, never had before

These are the only lyrics of the song, and Flo Rida used her vocal to create the banger “Good Feeling.”

As one of his biggest fans, I’m disappointed that Avicii is no longer touring. But who can blame him? Touring was having negative effects on his health, and he was not enjoying his life at 26. It’s very impressive how much of an impact Avicii has had on the music industry at such a young age — he is still regarded as one of the top DJs in the world. But hey Avicii, I’m still waiting for some new tunes from you soon!

I’m hoping one day there will be a revival tour and I will be able to see him preform in Las Vegas (what I like to call the Disneyland for Adults). Serious recommendation to all you EDM freaks like me, you gotta go. It will change your life! But I digress…

While this song did come out in 2011 (late in my high school career), it had such a lasting impression that to this day it remains a fav jam to thrown on the party playlist #classic

Stream “Levels” here:

--

--

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
Writer for

AKA Trinz- EDM freak, spin obsessed, love to dance, bad and basic