Which songs will be classics 40 years from now?

Attending the Hall and Oates concert in Boston recently had me thinking…

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM
3 min readJul 18, 2017

--

photo: nydailynews

Some of you may be wondering, who are these Hall and Oates that she speaks of? Isn’t that some kind of cereal or something? Well if you don’t know these legends, let me introduce you to Daryl Hall and John Oates, the Philadelphia rock/soul duo with six No. 1 tracks and six platinum albums. They were a huge success in the 80s, and I bet you would recognize a few of their songs… you just never knew who these songs were by. Songs like “You Make My Dreams” still get played in popular bars on the regular, making them fun to sing and/or dance along to.

Hall and Oates use an array of instruments like drums, guitar, bass, and even saxophone in their music. During the concert I was especially impressed with the band and sax player. You could tell these guys were seasoned professionals who enjoyed performing. They were comfortable and had a cool aura about them on stage.

Hall & Oats topped the charts with songs like “Maneater” and “Rich Girl” in the 1980s, so naturally, the average age in the audience was over 55. Being on the younger side of the audience during the concert made me think — Which concerts will I still want to attend 40 years from now? Whose songs will be classic enough to play at a bar when my children are old enough to get in? How will music continue to evolve and grow?

Music has certainly developed throughout the years since Hall and Oates were in their prime. I grew up in the age of glamorous boy bands and pop princesses, not classic rock stars. This doesn’t give me much hope that I will be lining up to see a Backstreet Boys or Britney Spears concert in my fifties. These pop stars used catchy lyrics, sweet harmonies, and fun dance moves to gain their celebrity, but I’m unsure if it has the same power to survive the generations to come.

When you go to a pop concert, there is no band. Maybe the occasional guitar or piano will show up, but typically, the concert is full of impressive dance numbers instead of impressive instrument solos. I grew up playing the violin, but after middle school I was forced to make a decision to choose between music or athletics, and I chose the latter. Therefore, I have a serious appreciation for those who can play musical instruments (since I lack this talent). A live band amazes me, and its fun to look around the stage and see them be so passionate about the music they are creating together.

There are many bands who I enjoy listening to today — such as The Fray, Matchbox 20, Maroon 5, Parachute…but will their music stay popular for decades to come? Only time will tell…

I’m led to think about phenomenal voices like Alicia Keys, Christina Aguilera, Mariah Carey, Adele, etc. Will they be the ones who are fondly remembered? Their emotional lyrics, matched with their God-given, once-in-a-lifetime voices, make them stand out above the crowd in my opinion.

Only a select number of musicians will stand the test of time and last through the decades. It’s hard to predict who will remain relevant and what the popular “throwbacks” will be. Who do you think can stand the test of time? Let us know in the comments below.

Also, check out this Spotify Playlist of some of Hall and Oates best hits!

--

--

Katrina Parsons
UTIOM

AKA Trinz- EDM freak, spin obsessed, love to dance, bad and basic