Gentrification: Views from Clinton Hill

Danajha Davis
1 min readDec 14, 2016

--

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-xIyiSgvEBQ

For my final project I decided to focus on how gentrification has impacted my neighborhood, Clinton Hill, told through the eyes of my family. I used film as my medium and have created a short documentary incorporating the narratives of my grandmother and younger brother. I chose my grandmother and brother as my subjects because I wanted to make my project personal by having it be two people who are close to me as well as compare and contrast the experiences of the young and the old.

Sources:

“Brooklyn Neighborhood Reports.” Brooklyn Neighborhood Reports | Brooklyn Community Foundation. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Dec. 2016.

“The Gentrification Cycle.” Jen Sorensen. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Dec. 2016.

“Clinton Hill Neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York (NY), 11238, 11205 Detailed Profile.” Clinton Hill Neighborhood in Brooklyn, New York (NY), 11238, 11205 Subdivision Profile — Real Estate, Apartments, Condos, Homes, Community, Population, Jobs, Income, Streets. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Dec. 2016.

LLC, QuallsBenson. “Clinton Hill Co-ops by Time Equities.” Clinton Hill Co-ops by Time Equities. N.p., n.d. Web. 12 Dec. 2016.

--

--