Meet two of the youngest Gentrifiers of Clinton Hill

Danajha Davis
1 min readNov 21, 2016

--

Pictured above on the Left is Jalen Hamlin, 11 and on the right Nazir St. Rose, 12 walking down Vanderbilt Ave in Clinton Hill on Friday November 18, 2016

How has gentrification in Clinton Hill effected the lives of younger generations?

In this snapshot I have a picture of my brother and his friend who are pictured walking home on Friday after school. I took pictures and footage of the boys walking as I interviewed my brother about the changing neighborhood. I made sure to make my interview questions children friendly by making sure to ask questions regarding what stores he liked to stop in after school, what things he would buy, and how much they were. I wanted it to be as organic as possible and so I made sure to follow the boys exact route home all the way to where they split to go their separate ways. My point in including this was to get a starting ground of my brother’s narrative; I wanted to prove that despite age my brother actively and inactively plays a role in gentrification.

--

--