Snapshot: Markers of Gentrification

Tia Tijhani Guerrier
UURB 3610
Published in
3 min readSep 7, 2016

My snapshot is an ad out of New York Magazine. It is a picture of the skyline of New York City on the Hudson River. The advertisement states “Live the dream; No fee Manhattan apartment rentals in New York’s best neighborhoods”. This advertisement signifies gentrification to me because of what it simply states “Live the dream”, which is essentially why some urban cities are gentrified. The “dream” to live in a certain cities has eventually drawn people to the cities. It eventually affects these urban cities and its previous inhabitants.I believe that the “dream” to live in urban cities is part of what initially causes the demand for property in these cities, and then the gentrification of urban cities. I do not yet know if this “dream” is a negative or positive cause of gentrification. Simply because I too had the “dream” of living in New York City, which led me to chose The New School, and it was my top choice because it’s located in East Village, which has been heavily gentrified to the point that its is totally different than what my parents described it to be as their favorite party of the city in the late 80s and early 90s. The leads to my personal dilemma with gentrification, because at times gentrification causes the eradication of the city’s culture. The village that my parents described was a place where art culture was thriving and Keith Haring was on the rise and the East Village was apart of this cultural hotbed of the Lower East Side.

My snapshot is an ad out of New York Magazine. It is a picture of the skyline of New York City on the Hudson River. The advertisement states “Live the dream; No fee Manhattan apartment rentals in New York’s best neighborhoods”. This advertisement signifies gentrification to me because of what it simply states “Live the dream”, which is essentially why some urban cities are gentrified. The “dream” to live in a certain cities has eventually drawn people to the cities. It eventually affects these urban cities and its previous inhabitants.I believe that the “dream” to live in urban cities is part of what initially causes the demand for property in these cities, and then the gentrification of urban cities. I do not yet know if this “dream” is a negative or positive cause of gentrification. Simply because I too had the “dream” of living in New York City, which led me to chose The New School, and it was my top choice because it’s located in East Village, which has been heavily gentrified to the point that its is totally different than what my parents described it to be as their favorite party of the city in the late 80s and early 90s. The leads to my personal dilemma with gentrification, because at times gentrification causes the eradication of the city’s culture. The village that my parents described was a place where art culture was thriving and Keith Haring was on the rise and the East Village was apart of this cultural hotbed of the Lower East Side.

--

--

Tia Tijhani Guerrier
UURB 3610

Writer, Thinker, Poet, Feeler. Creative Writing and Literary Studies Student at the New School.