Danajha Davis
UURB 3610
Published in
2 min readOct 16, 2016

--

While reading the NY times article How Hipsters Ruin Paris I couldn’t help but think how true and ridiculous this was. I was reading an article that foretold the city of Paris in its truest reign and essence, and how due to the sea monster known as gentrification, it’s beauty has become lost. I was both sad and equally torn, feeling upset with the sequence of events. Even as I type this now my fingers shake slightly as I attempt to find the perfect thing to write, perfect as in contains no errors and tries to leave no one feeling “uneasy”.

Even as I write about my impression and thoughts of the article down I still realize how much its content stayed with me, and how much it may have stayed with other people reading. The language was provocative and for me that’s what mattered the most and what left the biggest impact. As much as I was in awe I also felt a need to put a stop to the development of urban life, as it spills over into other countries and makes it an uncomfortable environment for the longttime families that reside there. I say this because I know how it feels and I know what it, I’ve seen it up close and personal. Gentrification looks like; people living on the streets, it feels like; chaos, it smells like; vegan casserole or some unknown healthy FAD that’s supposed to be good for us. I have been a gentrifier by being apart of the millennials, owning a cell phone, shopping at Trader Joe’s and other miscellaneous acts but have also been gentrified against all in the same place, New York City. Of course my knowledge doesn’t go above the people in Paris who like me, have experienced the horrific effects of the sea monster called gentrification; this is with respect to their own personal testimonies.

The articles writer, Thomas Chatteron Williams, explains how technology’s relationship with gentrification affects us. It compares Paris to New York saying how everyone is presumed with their electronic devices, subconsciously blocking out the world while recycling the same foods, beliefs, jobs, schools, careers, ways of life, etc. Which I think honestly was very eloquently stated. In essence, more and more people are feeling at an ‘unease’ and missing the gritty way of life that big cities like Paris and New York once called home. Soon everyone everywhere will breathe life the same, be careful. The sea monster known as gentrification is making its way over to your town, neighborhood, city, and country; ready to wipe out and displace everyone who’s around.

--

--