I blame Facebook for my shopping addiction

Mariana Arana
3 min readJul 6, 2015

--

I will not lie, I spend more time on Rrevolevclothing.com, than I should. This purely online-based store is my absolute favorite place to drool at over clothes and then proceed to cry about how expensive the prices are. I am in no way a compulsive shopper. As a recent college graduate who is under a tight budget, I make sure any purchase, especially one with a heavy price tag, is worth the investment. Somehow though, Revolve Clothing new that, and somehow they new exactly how to convince me into making purchases with them.

One of the first purchases I made with them was probably back in 2010. I had heard about the store because of my college roommate. When I visited their website I was immediately hooked. Not only did they have a great selection of clothes, shoes, accessories, etc, but the website in itself was very appealing to me. The design of the website was very appealing to young females like me. Also, they offered certain perks like free priority shipping and returns in all orders, awesome customer service, user log in that remembered your payment information for a super fast checkout, etc. The one thing that REALLY struck me about them though, was their Facebook advertisement.

After my first purchase, I began seeing banners which would show me items saved in my “Favorite” list, or items I had clicked on several times. These ads usually had phrases like “ I know you´ve been checking me out” or “free shipping and returns”. I often ignore this ads, but I also find myself clicking through them quite a lot. Looking, thinking, weighing the investment, and sometimes buying the product. This was of re-taregetting me understands my behavior as a customer. At least in my case, the way they nurture their leads is extremely succesful.

In addition, I have an extreme loyalty towards the brand. I will very rarely shop anywhere else and usually rave about their website when I am asked about them. I think this is the combination of excellent customer service, an easy to use website, and of course the way they have nurtured my relationship with them through all these years of using Facebook ad re-targetting.

My perception and engagement with the brand seem to align with Ashley Torres´s, Revolve’s senior manager of social strategy, mission. She says the company wants to create an emotional connection with the consumer and turn them into a loyal brand advocates. Revolve calls these brand advocates “Revolve Girls.”

Another way the brand harnesses these brand advocates is by creating RevolveMe, a section of its e-commerce site which uses user-generated content that highlights customers wearing Revolve products. Customers can take and post a photo of themselves wearing Revolve clothing with the hashtag #REVOLVEme.

Since launching the section in February 2014, Revolve customers have submitted 3,000 photos to the web site and 10,000 to Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook . Those social media submissions have garnered more than 60 million impressions of the #REVOLVEme hashtag. Customers love to see their photos featured on Revolve’s web site, Torres says, and the user-generated marketing campaign plays right into the so-called “Me” generation.

Even though Facebook ads is just one of the things Revolve Clothing is doing right in terms of their Marketing, it has become an important way to get younger audiences such as me, to buy their products.

--

--