Social Media and the Medical Field

Sarah Crandall
UVA New Media Strategies 2015
1 min readJun 10, 2015

We do not currently engage in the political arena of social media. It really would not be in our best interest, at least in my opinion. As a medical practice, putting your political beliefs out there could be detrimental to business, especially if we were to dive into the Affordable Care Act. This could actually apply to any company since political and religious beliefs can become so volatile when viewpoints between business and patron don’t always match up.

As a whole, we simply stick to what we know best, Orthopaedics, Pain Management & Physical Therapy!

Personally, I’m more of a stalker when it comes to political posts. I avoid posting or commenting too much, simply to avoid the drama. I have 2 girls at home, I have enough drama to deal with already. I’m really going to miss The Daily Show, just saying.

My questions:

  1. When would engaging with others on social media for government entities prove to be positive for a company in the private sector vs. public sector?
  2. What method of social interaction is the most productive? Facebook, Twitter, Google +, Pinterest or something else? Why?

--

--