In Response to Public Sector Digital Trends

Hannah Hietala
UVA New Media Strategies Spring 2017
2 min readFeb 21, 2017

I’d like to start by saying that I found the articles from Granicus to be very engaging. The format, particularly, was appealing to me. The content was so straightforward and easy to understand and it was paired with visuals that illustrated its points quite clearly.

http://www.granicus.com/wp-content/uploads/application/pdf/checklist_GC_7stepsEngagement.pdf

In my position, we do not currently utilize new media to engage with government. However, especially since I serve a state agency, it would not necessarily be out of the realm of possibility for me. Specifically, my workplace offers professional development programs for employers and organizations in our region. Those programs can be open enrollment or customized and there really are no limits as to what we could offer so we could easily branch out and plan programs based on the needs of government employees in our area. In fact, we have actually hosted a workshop that includes police officers, first responders and other government employees involved in school safety and security. That said, the interaction with this particular group is almost completely via e-mail or phone call.

I am looking forward to hearing from our guest lecturer this week. I am hopeful that it could open up a new horizon for my team and we may find a way to expand our client base. I felt that the tips from the readings were beneficial to anyone with a focus on digital marketing, regardless of being government-related.

Questions for Guest Lecturer:

1. As it pertains to government, is there a particular social media platform that is most prominent? For example, I’ve noticed that many of my local representatives are much more active on Twitter than any other outlet. Does this hold true across the public sector? Is there a reason to be more engaged on one platform versus another? Does any risk come from being engaged on a certain platform?

2. In the 2017 Public Sector Digital Communications Trends Report, it discusses the use of various communication channels to reach the target audience. The article says that only 23% of organizations use text messaging as a platform and only 21% utilize blogs. Moving forward, do you think more government organizations will begin using either of these tools to reach out? Should they be using these tools to reach out? Personally, I’ve become a fan of blogs, but I’m not sure I that I would enjoy receiving text messages. What do you think?

--

--