More Ad Blocking Terms Now Offered on Google Adsense

Jason Butler
UVA New Media Strategies Spring 2017
2 min readFeb 11, 2017

I’ve found myself fortunate enough to have found success creating videos on Youtube. While I also enjoy the ability to place ads on my videos, I never took much thought into how the ads that are shown may affect my audience.

I’m guilty of not focusing heavily on the types of ads that run on my Youtube channel. I’ve always known that I’ve WANTED ads, but the idea of blocking certain ads from my audience so as not to lose anyone from an ineffective ad is not something that has often crossed my mind.

In an article written on Marketing Land (http://marketingland.com/adsense-opt-out-ad-cateogry-expansion-206009), Ginny Marvin reports that now creators have the ability to add more specialization to the items they want blocked on their videos.

In the past, Youtube creators were only able to paint with broad strokes when blocking ad types (example given in article: you used to only be able to block “apparel” for example, but now can specifically request ads with “sunglasses” or “watches” are blocked). Now, they have more control as to what kinds of ads show or do not show when someone watches a video on their channel with more refined subgroups of terms they can use to block ads.

I think that is is a nice new feature. A potential consequence of blocking broad ad types is that ads you may want to get through do not. I would be interested to see if someone could produce data to see if this has an effect on user engagement and new user generation on Youtube channels or not.

-Jason

--

--