Native Advertising

Hannah Hietala
UVA New Media Strategies Spring 2017
1 min readMar 22, 2017

Native advertising is a new concept to me, so I was interested to explore the concept and see exactly what it was all about. I stumbled upon this article in my research and found it very helpful to my understanding of the topic:

Farnworth’s article provides several examples of native advertising that allow the reader to see exactly what it looks like both in print and online. I found the article to be beneficial because I am very much a visual learner. It was useful to me to look at the different ways native advertising can be used even more so than reading about it. I quickly realized that while the concept of native advertising is new to me, the actual execution is not. I have seen many examples of this type of advertising throughout my internet browsing experiences — I just didn’t know that’s what it was called.

Overall, I really like the idea of native advertising. In my view, it is less in your face than banner ads (which very much annoy me), but also gets your brand out there. Whereas I rarely take the opportunity to look at or click on a banner ad, I typically do look at native ads. They may not do much in the way of call-to-actions, but they are definitely fruitful as far as brand awareness is concerned.

--

--