Reflection on Super Bowl 2017 Ads

Hannah Hietala
UVA New Media Strategies Spring 2017
3 min readFeb 27, 2017

I’ve never been a big sports fan, so I did not watch the Super Bowl. When we were asked to take a look at this year’s commercials, it did not take me long to find one that stood out to me.

At another time or in another place, “Born the Hard Way” by Budweiser might not have caught my attention. But in light of today’s political climate, the ad really resonated with me. It was the first ad that I watched and it is one of the few that has lingered in my mind.

This ad got me thinking and I was really excited about the statement that Budweiser chose to make. I don’t intend to get too political in this post, but I will say that President Trump’s policies toward immigration infuriate me. In my view, our country was built on immigration and it should always have a place here.

I have to admit that I don’t know a whole lot about Budweiser — not their brand or their beer. But I do think of Budweiser as being a traditional “American” beer. The fact that they chose to portray their history as being started by an immigrant was amazing to me. I felt like I was watching a short film all about “The American Dream.” He came to America to brew beer and he ended up with one of the biggest beer companies in our nation. What a great story! And just one example of the positive impact immigrants can have on our country.

It’s relevance to what’s been going on in the news also makes it perfect to talk about in the context of converged media. We know that Budweiser paid big bucks to get this pro-immigration spot on the air. They paid money to make a statement and the media attention that they earned is not hard to find. Just Google “Budweiser Super Bowl Commercial” and take a look at all the articles that pop up.

Of course, the earned media reflects both positive and negative reactions. One of the first links you can see in the photo is about the “Boycott Budweiser” hashtag that popped up in reaction to the ad. But the underlying point is that Budweiser got the discussion going. Positive and negative reactions alike, Budweiser is the focus of attention. And that’s the whole point!

Honestly, I was quite surprised by Budweiser’s ad. I wouldn’t have expected a political statement to come from a “traditional” beer company. But I am so glad that it did. I have to say, I’m not much of a beer drinker. I enjoy partaking in what our local breweries have to offer, but I’m not a person who would go to the store and pick up a six pack. However, thanks to this ad, I’m thinking that I might just have to give Budweiser a chance.

--

--