Retargeting to sell soap

Jason Butler
UVA New Media Strategies Spring 2017
3 min readMar 15, 2017

As our instructor may have pointed out in the class, a friend and I are interested in launching a line of artisan soap products sometime in the near future. I’ve learned a lot from this class, especially techniques used to capture and effectively market to potential customers.

Our Logo

As someone just starting out in the soap game, I think the number one thing my associate and I are going to try to do is capture an audience. I’m not yet sure whether or not the online sales shop platform we are going to use will let us utilize retargeting tools via cookies that individuals who visit the online shop will drop, but we plan to also have a footprint on the Facebook space as well.

I thought that the conversation the class had with the retargeting capabilities of Facebook was AMAZING. It was such a beautiful thing to witness for someone like myself who likes utilizing online tools, working with data, and finding ways to target people to sell stuff with.

So, once my soap company is up and running (and I hope you plan on buying said soap), our initial marketing campaign will center around a Facebook retargeting campaign as well as other retargeting tools available to us that allow us to retarget via a potential customer’s cookies on other websites.

The “Black Forest” Soap

One big reason for this is because the traditional remarketing via email to me might come with a stigma, even though I believe emails can be effective if they look personal, you can sense the seller’s passion, and it’s not some automatic piece of junk email. I think people aren’t as quick to turn down retargeted ads and, should our ads be beautiful enough, I’m confident it will be appealing enough for people to want to visit our page and then hopefully click a link back to our online shop. I also think that utilizing the Facebook platform is a resource you can’t afford to not use.

For our target customers, we would look for individuals of any age interested in hand-made artisan products, and then also filter on individuals interested in hand-made soap. Since we are starting up, I’m heavily interested in spending money just to get exposure within the market and have people clicking around, talking about the uniqueness of our quality product. Once we get enough eyeballs on the product, I know they’ll be intrigued in learning more about the soap, talking to their friends about it, and purchasing some of their own to try out.

-Jason

P.S.: I’m sure we’ll use some sort of remarketing campaign as well, as I think that utilizing a potential customer’s email address to send them personal thank you’s and deals is an effective way to show them who you are, what you’re about, and that you value their service and empower them to want to buy.

--

--