The Super Bowl Ad I can’t stop laughing at

Helen Jureidini
UVA New Media Strategies Spring 2017
2 min readFeb 28, 2017

As you all know, I love the Audi “Daughter” ad. It’s message really hit home for me, and it remains my favorite ad featured during this Super Bowl. But, the ad I am still talking about (and continues to make me crack up), and I wonder if others ares still talking about as well, is “Bai Bai Bai,” featuring Christopher Walken and Justin Timberlake for the Bai brand antioxidant drink. I don’t know about others, but I couldn’t remember hearing of, or seeing that brand before the ad ran, but now I’ve noticed it at both my local grocery store and at Target. I thought using N’SYNC’s “BYE, BYE, BYE” lyrics was brilliant, espcially if the brand is trying to reach 25–39 year olds who would definitely know the song. And, watching Justin Timberlake’s facial expressions as Christopher Walken recites N’SYNC lyrics? Hysterical.

Unfortunately, I hadn’t heard about the ad prior to the Super Bowl to see how many people on Facebook had seen it, or commented on it. After doing some research, the ad was posted on Bai’s Facebook page (owned media) on January 31st, and since then it’s been viewed 631,339 times (initial post). Bai then reposted it the day after the Super Bowl and it was viewed 21,000 times and shared 270 times with viewers posting postive and negative comments (earned media). I also noticed while trying to find their website that Bai had purchased a Google Ad (paid media).

While this ad wasn’t memorable because of its message or political stance and didn’t receive the attention the Audi “Daughter” ad did, I do think the humor it provided might have encouraged a few people to go out and try the brand or at least do some research.

--

--