25: A Reflection As I Leave My Early 20s

Daivik Goel
uWaterloo Voice
Published in
4 min readNov 17, 2023

Turning 25 today marks a significant milestone for me, and it has been occupying my thoughts lately. While I still consider myself young, I’ve been feeling a sense of time slipping away. My younger self had more optimistic expectations for what my life at 25 would look like. The pressure to pursue my interests has always been present, but as I approach 25, it has intensified. I’ve never shied away from taking risks, but the looming reality that the consequences of these risks will become more pronounced in the next five years is beginning to weigh on me.

A couple months ago, I decided to fully pursue creating something of my own, forgoing a job and stability to really spend time building something from the ground up. It’s a position I have become familiar with, albeit this time was the largest commitment to it that I had undertaken. A big reason I decided to really go for it now was due to this inherent feeling pressure of time.

After completing university, it often appears that people follow one of three paths. The first path involves progressing towards the next stage of life: securing a stable job, saving money, finding a life partner, and finding meaning through building a life with them while striving for financial independence.

The second path is characterized by uncertainty and exploration. People on this path are “figuring it out.” They are unsure which of the other two paths to pursue and spend time reflecting, traveling, engaging in self-discovery while seeking meaning in life and relationships.

The third path is unique, as it combines chaos with clarity. Those on this path seemingly know what they want and are willing to abandon stability to chase a childhood dream. They are committed to pursuing this dream while holding onto the fading energy of their youth that originally set them on this path. This path often lacks stability, involves questionable financial decisions, and a delay in settling down. It focuses solely on a single area of pursuit.

In the early twenties, it seems most people are on the second or third path. However, when you reach 25, there’s a significant shift towards the first path due to changing values and increasing responsibilities. As people age, they tend to move towards a more stable and settled life.

The other two paths can be seen as privileges enjoyed by the young, those who have the freedom to explore without major responsibilities. While this may work well in youth, eventually, one must come to terms with the sacrifices and compromises involved in continuing down these paths.

At 24, I made the decision to leave everything behind and pursue my own venture, and it has been the best decision I’ve ever made, regardless of the eventual outcome. At 25, I hold onto the belief that this pursuit is worth every risk and sacrifice. However, as I observe the growing gap between my choices and those of most people my age, I can’t help but feel the pressure of time. I realize that I only have a limited window to chase my dreams without compromising the lives of the people I love.

All that said, life is a series of phases, each with its unique challenges and opportunities. While there is mounting pressure to go down a certain path as we enter the realm of adulthood, ultimately the decision to do so is in our hands.

As I look forward to the next five years and, eventually, the milestone of turning 30, I’m excited to see how my journey unfolds. I’m determined to remain faithful to the process, knowing that growth and self-discovery are often found in the most challenging moments. I’ve learned to embrace life’s uncertainties as that is part of what makes it beautiful.

So, as I welcome 25 with open arms, I do so with gratitude, optimism, and the understanding that, in the end, it’s not about the path we choose but the journey we embark upon. Here’s to the adventure of life and the pursuit of our dreams, whatever they may be.

I recently started a bi-weekly newsletter about IRL events, startups and building products! These articles will be posted there first so feel free to subscribe

Thanks for reading,

Daivik Goel

--

--

Daivik Goel
uWaterloo Voice

Supercharging the Creator Economy | Founder | Writer | uWaterloo Computer Eng Grad | Host of The Building Blocks Podcast | ex. Tesla, Cisco Meraki