Authored by the Holy Spirit

Mikayla Garcia
UWCCF
Published in
3 min readJun 16, 2021

🍞 How might I discern Spirit-filled words from my own?

Frankly, as I am writing this piece, I am battling some insecurity about my writing capabilities. :’)

Some things that I am heavily fearful of are: making inadequate contributions to a conversation and coming off as boastful. Though these fears seem to be on opposite ends of the spectrum (self-importance and self-pity), not one is more valid than the other because they are both rooted in pride.

Some things God revealed to combat these fears are: (1) when I trust in them instead of Him, I sin and close opportunities off from God’s wonderful work; (2) there’s no room for insecurity in this feat, because the words that I share should be from the Holy Spirit. I shouldn’t be focused on eloquence, but the genuine message that God is putting on my heart.

So I will be writing about just that: why it is important to surrender authorship to the Holy Spirit when sharing!

Recently I have been reading Grudem’s Systematic Theology (with some beloved sisters of similar bra1ncell ( ・ᴗ・̥̥̥ )). Through our discussion on the apostles writing by inspiration of God, a few points arose that could be relevant to Blog Min & sharing words for God’s glory.

  1. God calls us to surrender. We should deny ourselves and put complete trust in His wisdom, pursuing true discipleship.

“Then Jesus said to His disciples, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross, and follow Me. For whoever desires to save his life with lose it, but whoever loses his life for My sake will find it.”

— Matthew 16:24–25

2. The Holy Spirit reveals marvellous things that are beyond our understanding. By surrendering to Him through this unique medium, we offer ourselves as vessels to God’s spoken wisdom, who provides revelation far past our puny human understanding!! Praise God that He provides the Spirit who speaks through us, because everything I write without it ends up being 💩🔥.

“But as it is written: What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man conceived, the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” (9)

“What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us. This is what we speak, not in words taught us by human wisdom but in words taught by the Spirit, explaining spiritual realities with Spirit-taught words.” (13)

— 1 Corinthians 2:9; 2:13

3. God provides the Holy Spirit as a teacher and reminder of His wisdom. He desires to promote sustained trust in Him, and grow us through remembrance of His values and precepts. Thus, we should constantly consult Him as we write and serve to keep accountable.

“But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you.”

— John 14:26

🍞 How might I discern Spirit-filled words from my own?

Based on Jesus’ definition of true discipleship, we are called to follow Him and not ourselves. The Spirit provides insightful revelation and recollection of God’s wisdom. Thus, the voice of the Holy Spirit is devoid of any selfish intent, with the full intention to glorify God.

Building off Anda’s piece about the posture we should take while writing, my prayer is for the Holy Spirit to be alongside the readers and writers of these blog posts. I hope that each writer would be humbled to come as they are to serve God in this medium, authentically sharing what He put on each heart to edify others and glorify Him. That He would also speak to the readers who read the pieces, softening their hearts to be encouraged by the good words He has authored :)

Thanks & peace °˖✧✌️(⁰▿⁰)✌️✧˖°

--

--