Labor for Eternity

Elizabeth Ng
UWCCF
Published in
3 min readFeb 21, 2019

Him we proclaim, warning everyone and teaching everyone with all wisdom, that we may present everyone mature in Christ. For this I toil, struggling with all his energy that he powerfully works within me. — Colossians 1:28–29

For the past few weeks, I have been struggling with feelings of apathy towards the people around me and my commitment towards serving in CCF. I was so conflicted and discouraged because of my lack of love and desire to serve my brothers and sisters in CCF. I felt ashamed and guilty for being in a serving position meanwhile having such negative and apathetic thoughts. Confused with the root of it all, I began to pray. I prayed fervently that my mind’s desire to want to love and serve CCF would align with my heart’s desire, but nothing seemed to change.

The feeling of guilt took over me and my mind began to shift towards thinking that I needed to be a “better Christian” in order to be serving. I quickly felt afraid, hypocritical and incapable of serving my brothers and sisters in this way and just wanted to run away from it all. I wanted to run away from my friends, the fellowship and my whole life in Waterloo.

But even amidst my sin, God was faithful. He had heard my prayers and was gracious towards me. God provided my sister, who encouraged me, prayed for me and pointed me back to God, reminding me of His faithfulness in the past and present, even though I could not see it.

After a long talk with my sister, I was simply reminded of the gospel. Reminded of God’s grace and mercy that he so generously pours out onto us because He loves us! We are not saved by works, but saved by grace through faith in Jesus (Ephesians 2:8)! Not only did He save us, but He promised us the Holy Spirit, who is working powerfully within us as we take part in God’s mission.

God does not need us to carry out his mission, but he allows us to be a part of it, teaching us and sanctifying us to become more and more like His son. So persevere and be faithful! Beware of the devil — the enemy wants you to shrink back, run away and not be faithful. BUT GOD gives us strength to persevere if we ask him. Seek HIM above all else. I pray that you would keep running the race, fight the good fight of faith knowing your reward will be the crown of righteousness (1 Timothy 6:12, 2 Timothy 4:7–8).

“O our God, will you not execute judgment on them? For we are powerless against this great horde that is coming against us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.” -2 Chronicles 20:12

Fix your eyes on JESUS, the founder and perfecter of your faith, the one who died for all of your sin, the one who sits at the right hand of the Father, through whom we have access to our Father in heaven. Let the truths of God defeat the lies of the enemy. We do not fight for victory but we fight from victory! Be reminded of God’s faithfulness in the past and trust that He will surely be faithful to you today and in the future! Labor for eternity and know the “well done good and faithful servant” (Matthew 25:23) is waiting for you in heaven and it will be worth it all.

Therefore, do not throw away your confidence, which has a great reward. For you have need of endurance, so that when you have done the will of God you may receive what is promised. For,

“Yet a little while, and the coming one will come and will not delay; but my righteous one shall live by faith, and if he shrinks back, my soul has no pleasure in him.”

But we are not of those who shrink back and are destroyed, but of those who have faith and preserve their souls. — Hebrews 10:35–39

So, my fellow believer, as you take part in God’s mission but may be feeling tired and burdened, I pray that this would be encouragement to you. That you would remember why you are serving and who you are serving. I pray that you would be humble and faithful as you labor for the Lord. Wherever you are, whatever you are doing, do it for God’s glory.

Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain. — 1 Corinthians 15:58

--

--