Musings from the Weekend Before Advent

Tim He
UWCCF
Published in
4 min readDec 5, 2021
Photo by KaLisa Veer on Unsplash

I’ve learned this weekend that 6:30 AM flights are not enjoyable in the slightest. But I’ve also learned a lot of other things. As I sit and reflect on the past 48 hours, I thought it might be good to organize my thoughts through text, for myself, but also to potentially serve and encourage whoever might be reading this.

Friday, November 26, 2021

I spent the past week visiting Waterloo, a quick respite from my current co-op term in Montreal. I don’t have much to say about this other than to praise God for His faithfulness. I won’t lie, during the pandemic I had many doubts and fears with regard to the fellowship. I was questioning whether or not people would even come out post-COVID, wondering if CCF would continue to function as a community of believers building each other up and going out to proclaim the Gospel on campus and to the city of Kitchener-Waterloo. As an outside observer, this seems to be the case, and more. This is truly a cause for joy and celebration, that God has been steadfast in His work, and that He has continued to provide for His people despite everything. Just seeing the fulfillment of 1 Timothy 4:13 during the short period of time I was around was a blessing, and it fills me with anticipation for what God will do next term and beyond.

Saturday, November 27, 2021

After CCF on Friday, I had to head out to the airport for my 6:30 AM flight (shoutout Hannah and Angelo for driving at 3 AM while sleep-deprived ❤️). The following 24 hours were not a fun time. Airport security was awful, trying to slide in a quick nap at the gate was even more-so. I arrived back home in Montreal at 9, upon which I knocked out. I woke up again at around 3 PM and proceeded to marinate in my room, with no desire to do anything. As I immersed myself in apathy and idleness (which I pretended was “rest”), I began to lose sight of the joy I had just the day before. The reality of my sin, my idolatry, my circumstances, my loneliness, and my pointless striving for things that don’t matter began to set in. At some point, I called my mom (good) but I also learned of some unfortunate family news (bad). With all these thoughts swirling around in my head, I couldn’t help but have a feeling of despair, the very opposite feeling I had while in Waterloo. I went to sleep with these thoughts left unprocessed.

Sunday, November 28, 2021

Considering the events of the previous day, it was hard to find the motivation to get up for church on a Sunday morning. By the grace of God, I ended up rolling out of bed 10 minutes before heading out to catch my bus (shoutout the STM). Let me tell you, gathering with the saints on the Sabbath to worship together is truly a gift of God. Heading into the Advent season, the work of the Holy Spirit through the service brought an air of hope to my otherwise hopeless heart. As we studied Luke 1, the glorious truths of God’s fulfilled promises in Jesus shone through the Scripture like the sun through the windows of the church. It was clear that I had been walking in darkness, but now I have seen a great light (Isaiah 9:2). It was clear that though my circumstances were bleak, and though there was much despair and sin the day before, there was and still is forgiveness and grace in Christ. God has proven, over and over again, His faithfulness, not just in my own life, but in the grand story of redemption.

The sun through the windows on Sunday at Renaissance Church

There is so much joy in knowing that God Himself condescended to Earth to save sinful man. And there is much hope in knowing that one day, He will come again in glory, to wipe away every tear, to make all things new and to restore all things to Himself (Revelation 21:5). It’s through this hope that we can go and serve God without fear, in holiness and righteousness (Luke 1:74–79). As we enter into this Advent season, we have the opportunity to proclaim this hope, that the glories of the Gospel might be known.

--

--