Reflections from Comm Spring 2022

UWCCF
UWCCF
Published in
8 min readAug 31, 2022
Photo by @kanereinholdtsen on https://unsplash.com/photos/LETdkk7wHQk

We asked members of Committee Spring 2022 some questions and here are their answers!

What are your thoughts on how CCF went this term?

Melinda Li:

Personally, I think it went well. I enjoyed the programs & the bible studies we had. It was also nice to be back fully in person; I was able to catch up with people I haven’t seen in a while and create new intentional friendships. I loved that we were able to have musical worship in large groups as well — being able to hear all our voices singing praises to God.

I think all the different ministries we had this term ran successfully and it was encouraging to see members of CCF step up to serve — people who have and haven’t served before. All of God’s work!

How have you seen God working this term?/How has God answered prayer?

Melinda Li:

I think one of the biggest prayers answered is being able to have CCF in person and in large groups. Through last fall term and winter term, restrictions kept changing and it was difficult to gather in large groups. But this term we were able to do all of that, and host outdoor programs since the weather was good.

Another prayer that we have each term is for leaders to step up and serve. We are a big fellowship and we need quite a few leaders each term. But SGs, DGs, Internal Ministry, Blog Ministry, Musical Worship/AV Ministry, and Creative Ministry all had people stepping up to serve, and I think they all went well this term!

What has God been teaching you this term?

Steph Hsu:

There has been a recurring truth that God has been reminding me of each term that I’ve served on committee this past year and this term was no different. This is simply that the Lord is in control of all that is accomplished and that every good that comes out of this fellowship is solely because of Him and for the glory and praise of Him. Serving on committee was a privilege and wonderful opportunity, yet very much a humbling experience as I was reminded constantly that without God, all of our work is done in vain. This isn’t to say that we should have an attitude of apathy or complacency, believing that God will just work with “whatever”. But rather, that we should serve our King with what He is worthy of, fully surrender to Him, and then have faith that He will work.

Nina Zhao:

As life often goes, this term was full of ups and downs. However, I had the blessing of going through more ups than downs. For me, a lot of things just happened to work out smoothly this term, and most of the time I was waking up with joyful expectation for the day ahead of me. As Christians, I find that we talk a lot about seeking God through our trials, clinging to Him, and finding comfort in His Word. On the other end of the spectrum, how ought we to live when there are no trials, and everything appears to be going smoothly? How often do we look back at our trials and say, “Wow, thank you God!”, then look at the good times ahead of us and say, “I’ve got it from here though!”?

One of my favourite chapters in Deuteronomy is chapter 8. If you have time, you should definitely give the entire chapter a read. The chapter addresses the nation of Israel before they enter the promised land and reminds them of all the struggles that they went through in the wilderness. They are reminded that it was God who brought them through the struggles, and it is God who has prepared the promised land for them, in which they will be blessed and can prosper. But in verse 17–18, they are warned:

Beware lest you say in your heart, “My power and the might of my hand have gotten me this wealth.” You shall remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you power to get wealth, that he may confirm his covenant that he swore to your fathers, as it is this day. — Deuteronomy 8:17–18

Through this passage, we are reminded not to forget that it is God who is in control, both in the ups and the downs. We are also reminded that God gives us blessings not because we deserve them or have earned them, but because it is for His glory, so that He can confirm His faithfulness. Furthermore, as Pastor Jacob at Trinity Bible Chapel has highlighted numerous times this term, we need to be ready for Christ’s return which may be at any moment (Matthew 24:44). So, whether going through a season of trials or a season of peace, we must always take care to hold fast to the gospel.

As we approach a new term, its usually a clean slate for most of us. Some of you may end up having similar terms as me, where you are blessed with going through more ups than downs. Whatever that looks like, I hope that you would not lose your zeal for seeking God, and you would look for ways to glorify God with the blessings He gives you.

What would you like to tell the fellowship as the term closes and your time on comm ends?

Steph Hsu:

Our time here on earth is short, and our time in this chapter of university life is even shorter. I hope that you would cherish and make the best use of this time in light of eternity. Prioritize your relationship with the Lord; spend time in the Word and in prayer and commit to a local church. Study and work in a manner that is worthy of the Lord; take this opportunity to develop and fine-tune the gifts that God has given you. And last but not least, invest in the people around you — your peers and friends — by spreading the good news of the kingdom while God has given us this unique privilege to be labourers on this campus.

Nina Zhao:

Before I was on comm, I truly took CCF for granted. I simply thought, “As long as there is a committee each term, of course there will be a CCF program every Friday night!” In the first two years that I attended CCF, the bible studies, SGs, and DGs had such a positive impact on my faith. All I could think was, “Great, this is what should be happening!”. It wasn’t until my first term on comm — when we were all exhausted and confused while trying to plan CCF around WUSA’s Covid restrictions — that I came to realize our ability to meet as CCF is not even in our control. And much less, whether CCF can be a fellowship that glorifies God and is edifying for its members. Each term, the members of committee are different, but the following stays the same: Comm consists of eight sinful people, who all proclaim to seek Christ and His glorification, yet so easily fall into arguments that are fuelled by pride. We fail to love one another, we don’t put in enough effort, we lose track of our priorities and leave things to the last minute, we grumble, etc. We constantly fall short, yet by the grace of God, CCF still exists and God is working through the fellowship! God is sovereign. And throughout all these years, He has sustained CCF. So if you ever attend a CCF program, feel encouraged and are pointed to Christ by it, know that it is purely by the grace of God. I hope that you would recognize how much love God has shown this fellowship and never fail to give Him the glory. And I hope that as you realize this, you would remember and rejoice in the gospel even more, knowing that God’s ultimate love for us is shown on the cross where Jesus Christ died so that we as sinners can be reconciled with God.

Melinda Li:

Serving on comm was something I never ever thought I would do (I told my Fall 21 DG that I would never be on comm lol). But God calls us to be obedient to Him, even if it means going out of our comfort zone. He is the source of our strength and our love. And so I pray that your love for God and the Gospel will grow more and more each day, and that you would love and serve your fellow brothers and sisters.

Keqiang Pan

For those who don’t know me, I have always struggled with procrastination and proper work ethics and this is something which I am still working on. Heading into this term, I was promised an easier and lighter term by upper year pharmacy students. Thus I accepted the role of Chair anticipating that school will be just a breeze. After the first hectic month of planning for bible studies, organising small groups, talking to leaders, and running CCF, I was drained and exhausted. Moreover, I totally neglected school. As midterm season came up, I found myself trying to catch up on a month of school content. However, it was too late and I passed only 1 out of 6 of my midterms. I was accepting the fact that I probably won’t be able to make it to my next term since passing for me meant getting at least a 60 average in every single course. However, while doing my devos during that time, I came across 1 Corinthians 9:19–23. The verse talked about how we are called to become one with the world, while still being under the law of Christ, with our vision being to share the gospel with the world and enjoy the Lord’s blessings together. I was convinced that my cohort was my mission field. And with my new found convictions, I believe that God will be sovereign over all and place me where I am exactly meant to be. I studied as much as possible for 3 weeks straight and managed to pass this term with a 61.5. Despite all my efforts, I still failed a course. Initially, I thought that it was no big deal since it was not a prerequisite to any course that I’ll be taking in the next year. However, after talking to my advisor this past week I was informed that I will have to graduate a year later, no matter which path I take. I thought that God desperately wanted me to minister to my cohort, but this was a door that He has now closed. Although initially devastated (for a solid 2 hours), I came to the realisation that with my current study habits I was bound to fail sooner or later. My priorities are all over the place, and I think this is God forcing me to pause and fix it now. Meanwhile, I can make some money on the side to start paying my student debt, and also explore other opportunities in life which I’ve never had the chance to! What I am trying to say is that you are exactly where you are meant to be and the trials that you are going through are meticulously planned. You will look back in two, five, or even ten years before you finally understand what the Lord had in plan for you. He will give you what is necessary to persevere, and all things are to build up His kingdom and His people. Thus as Christians, we are to hold fast to the gospel and the everlasting love and promise that is promised in Revelation 8!

--

--