Thus Says The Lord

John Gu
UWCCF
Published in
9 min readOct 1, 2022
Photo by @sixteenmilesout on https://unsplash.com/photos/PpJOb2ByPBY

Thus says the Lord”

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.”

“God is light; in Him there is no darkness at all.”

“And the heavens proclaim His righteousness, for He is a God of justice.”

“The LORD is gracious and righteous; our God is full of compassion.”

“Love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love.”

“As for God, His way is perfect: The LORD’s word is flawless; He shields all who take refuge in Him.”

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.”

“I AM WHO I AM.”

(John 1:1, John 1:5 , Psalm 50:6, Psalm 116:5, 1 John 4:7, Psalm 18:30, James 1:17, Exodus 3:13–15)

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth.”

“God created man in His own image”

“When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, and the son of man that you care for him?”

“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb… Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

“And God said, ‘I am the LORD, your Holy One. You shall be holy, for I am holy,’”

“You therefore must be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect”

“Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God?”

(Genesis 1:1, 1:27, Psalm 8:3–4, Psalm 139:13–16, Isaiah 43:15; Matthew 5:48, 1 Corinthians 6:9)

“But they did not obey or incline their ear, but walked in their own counsels and the stubbornness of their evil hearts, and went backward and not forward.”

“Why then has this people turned away in perpetual backsliding? They hold fast to deceit; they refuse to return.”

“The LORD saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intention of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually.”

“My people have committed two evils: they have forsaken me, the fountain of living waters, and hewed out cisterns for themselves, broken cisterns that can hold no water.”

(Jeremiah 7:24, Jeremiah 8:5, Genesis 6:5, Jeremiah 2:13)

“If you, Lord, kept a record of sins, Lord, who could stand?”

“There is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God. None is righteous, no, not one; no one understands; no one seeks for God. All have turned aside; no one does good, not even one”

“A rebellious people, who walk in a way that is not good, following their own devices; a people who provoke me to my face continually”

“I will destine you to the sword, and all of you shall bow down to the slaughter, because, when I called, you did not answer; when I spoke, you did not listen, but you did what was evil in my eyes and chose what I did not delight in.”

“They will suffer the punishment of eternal destruction, away from the presence of the Lord.”

“For the wrath of God is revealed from heaven against all ungodliness and unrighteousness of men, who by their unrighteousness suppress the truth.”

(Psalm 130:3, Romans 3:23, Romans 3:10–12, Isaiah 65:2–12, 2 Thessalonians 1:9, Romans 1:18)

“And you were dead in the trespasses and sins in which you once walked, following the course of this world”

“But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ”

“The cords of death entangled me, the anguish of the grave came over me; I was overcome by distress and sorrow. Then I called on the name of the Lord: “Lord, save me!”

“God, have mercy on me, a sinner!”

“Thus says the Lord God: Behold, I, I myself will search for my sheep and will seek them out. As a shepherd seeks out his flock when He is among his sheep that have been scattered, so will I seek out my sheep, and I will rescue them from all places where they have been scattered”

“I will heal their apostasy; I will love them freely, for my anger has turned from them.”

(Ephesians 2:1–5, Psalm 116:3–19, Luke 18:13, Ezekiel 34:11–12, Hosea 14:4)

“The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; those who dwelt in a land of deep darkness, on them has light shone.” The true light, which gives light to everyone, was coming into the world. He was in the world, and the world was made through Him, yet the world did not know Him.”

“The Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen His glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.”

“Behold, My Servant, whom I uphold; My chosen one in whom My soul delights. I have put My Spirit upon Him; He will bring forth justice to the nations.”

“Though He was in the form of God, He did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.”

“He had no form or majesty that we should look at Him, and no beauty that we should desire Him. He was despised and rejected by men, a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief; and as one from whom men hide their faces He was despised, and we esteemed Him not.”

“Tempted in every way, just as we are — yet He did not sin.”

(Isaiah 9:2, John 1:9–10, John 1:14, Isaiah 42:1, Philippians 2:6–7, Isaiah 53:3, Hebrews 4:15)

“Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”

“Very rarely will anyone die for a righteous man, though for a good man someone might possibly dare to die. But God proves His love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.”

“Surely He has borne our griefs and carried our sorrows… He was pierced for our transgressions; He was crushed for our iniquities; upon Him was the chastisement that brought us peace, and with His wounds we are healed. All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned — every one — to his own way; and the Lord has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.”

“Yet it was the will of the Lord to crush Him; He has put Him to grief; when His soul makes an offering for guilt, He bore the sin of many, and makes intercession for the transgressors.”

“By grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God”

(John 15:3, Romans 5:7, Isaiah 53:4–6, 10–12, Ephesians 2:8–9)

“Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

“I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

“I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.

“If anyone thirsts, let him come to me and drink.

“The water that I will give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.

(John 8:12, John 14:6, Matthew 11:28, John 6:35, John 7:37, John 4:14, Jeremiah 29:13)

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.”

“This is the covenant that I will make with them after those days, declares the Lord: I will put my laws on their hearts, and write them on their minds,”

“And I will give them one heart, and a new spirit I will put within them. I will remove the heart of stone from their flesh and give them a heart of flesh, that they may walk in my statutes and keep my rules and obey them. And they shall be my people, and I will be their God.”

“For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to everyone who believes”

(2 Corinthians 5:17, Hebrews 10:16, Ezekiel 36:26, Romans 10:4)

“Since, therefore, we have now been justified by His blood, much more shall we be saved by Him from the wrath of God.”

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to His purpose.”

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

“For God so loved the world that He gave His one and only son, that whosoever should believe in Him will not perish but have eternal life.”

(Romans 5:9, Romans 8:28, Romans 6:23, John 3:16)

“What shall I return to the Lord for all His goodness to me?”

“My mouth will speak the praise of the Lord, and all flesh will bless His holy name forever and ever.”

“Whom have I in heaven but You? And on earth I desire no one besides You.”

“The Lord is my light and my salvation — whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life — of whom shall I be afraid?”

“One thing I ask from the Lord, this only do I seek: that I may dwell in the house of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze on the beauty of the Lord”

“Now this is eternal life, that they may know You, the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom You have sent.”

“You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.”

(Psalm 116:12, Psalm 145:21, Psalm 73:25, Psalm 27:1, 4, John 17:3, Psalm 16:11)

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

“I want to know Christ — yes, to know the power of his resurrection and participation in his sufferings, becoming like him in his death”

“Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For His sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ”

“All this is from God, who through Christ reconciled us to Himself and gave us the ministry of reconciliation; that is, in Christ God was reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and entrusting to us the message of reconciliation. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, God making His appeal through us.”

(Galatians 2:20, Philippians 3:10, 8, 2 Corinthians 5:18–20)

“For if we have been united with him in a death like His, we will certainly also be united with him in a resurrection like His”

“What, then, shall we say in response to these things? If God is for us, who can be against us? He who did not spare His own Son, but gave Him up for us all — how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things?”

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword?”

“No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

(Romans 6:5, Romans 8:31–39)

“Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to Him be glory”

“To Him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before His glorious presence without fault and with great joy — to the only God our Savior be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen.”

(Ephesians 3:20, Jude 1:24–25)

--

--

John Gu
UWCCF
Editor for

An angel once told me I had a way with words, so here I am, trying to put them to good use.