To the Wretched Slaves of Panopticon

John Gu
UWCCF
Published in
5 min readNov 18, 2023

The Panopticon: A brutal conceptualization of a prison system, designed to inflict psychological despair and hopelessness upon its inmates. The circular structure with central observatory tower ensures that prisoners never know whether or not they are being watched. At any time of the day, each inmate is conscious of the possible peering gaze from either prison guards or their fellow inmates. While allowed no privacy from the rest of the prison, each prisoner is yet walled off from their adjacent cell, such that intimacy with another is impossible.

For when you were slaves of sin — Romans 6:20

Dear prisoner,

I was once in your shoes, a fellow inmate and slave of panopticon

Familiar with that way of life, I too spent my days within illusory cells

I sat behind those same bars, made of assumption and conformity

Matching shackles hung from my wrists; formed in cold selfish steel

In every matching step, a heavy ball of want tugged at my heels

https://www.istockphoto.com/nl/vector/chained-prisoner-gm468161089-34609212

Like all of us were, I too was born a prisoner, never dreaming of escape

My sentence, like yours and the rest, was death

Inevitability hung to my conscience, looming before my numbered days

Like you no doubt, I feared the warden too

So on borrowed time, I served him by heart-bound chains

https://www.artsy.net/show/hakgojae-gallery-kang-yo-bae-solo-exhibition-ii-memento-camellia

He was never kind to us, our self-exalting man

He worked us to the bone, giving no offer of rest

Yet he was always with us, tracking us by our flesh

Through deceptions and lies, he bribed us with “hope”

So we toiled for him, building towers of dust—yet he was never satisfied

Painting depicting Roman soldiers ordering locals to build a road in Roman Britain. Lakeview Images/Alamy

Like you must have been, I too was whipped—flayed by the chords of emptiness and want

I know what it’s like to eat fear and drink anxiety, day after day

I still remember the sad hangovers of evanescent joys

And our consciences numbed by the opioids of pleasure

All I could ask was, “Is this all life really is?”, “Why me?”, “Why couldn’t things be different?”

That was life here, wasn’t it? In the prison of panopticon

Everywhere you looked, your fellow prisoners seemed the same

Running. Rotting. Racing. Raging. Reaching. Rebelling. Rationalizing. Regretting.

They each gave up freedom in the end for a reason, didn’t they?

No, my friend, don’t think that way. They didn’t give up – they were never looking in the first place

https://www.deviantart.com/ethicallychallenged/art/Prisoner-sketch-63583789

You. You need to listen to me. Don’t toil here, waiting for the rot to come

Don’t be fooled, holding on to your shackles and chains

Stop hiding behind your bars, camouflaged amongst other slaves

I too was once like you. Trapped. Decaying. Stubborn

But now? Now, I am free

Some may scoff, some may laugh. Others have even played along

But hear me out. Don’t you see? I once was bound, but now I’m free

Everything changed and I began to see

My burdens fled, and my heart sang with glee

How you ask? It all started when He called for me

He visited me in my cell, and as He came the bars gave way

They parted like the seas, and I was offered a choice

Will you come, or will you stay?

I looked up from my downward gaze and saw a light

A blinding flash that paradoxically renewed my sight

I couldn’t understand it at first

Did He want something from me?

Was I different or better than the rest?

What did He have to gain? What did I have to lose?

I was scared to say yes — it seemed too good to be true. Yet I couldn’t refuse

From The Horizon, a manga by Christian artist Ji-Hoon Jeong (highly recommend)

In the end, He saw my hesitation, but still took my hand

He led me past the bars, away from my toil, beyond those dark dungeon floors

He told me about the green grass and the ocean breeze

He broke my chains, and fed me a warm home-cooked meal

And I believed in Him

My friend. I am soon to depart from this wretched place

But before I do, I must ask and plead with you

He’s just beyond the gate, waiting for us

So won’t you leave this place behind and come with me?

We can go together, and you’ll be able to meet Him too

he has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim liberty to the captives, and the opening of the prison to those who are bound –Isaiah 61:1

--

--

John Gu
UWCCF
Editor for

An angel once told me I had a way with words, so here I am, trying to put them to good use.