Who Is Worthy?

Anda Su
UWCCF
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2023
AI generated art, by DALL-E

From far away, I could catch a glimpse of what seemed to be a table. Out of curiosity, I began to walk towards it.
As I got closer and closer, I could feel my legs shaking and my strength draining away. I could only fall on my hands and knees.
“What is this power?” Surely, infinite and immeasurable.
“Who is this table for?” Clearly, not for me. I am not worthy to even approach this table.

Suddenly I felt another person’s hands hold mine. He stooped down to bring me from my knees back onto my feet, even though I lacked all strength.
Surely this man was infinitely powerful and worthy. Surely this man was my saviour.

He invited me to sit at his table.
“Really? Can I?” I asked with great reverence.
“Yes.” He assured me with his gentle smile.

He handed me a piece of bread and a cup of wine.
“Eat and drink.” He said.
And as I looked him in the eye, I could see just slightly beyond him, that rugged and accursed cross. I could only be filled with dread and fear.
“How can I eat and drink so freely?” I asked desperately.
“The price? It has been paid by me. Death? It is no more!” He reassured.
He continued, “This bread that has been broken for you is my body. And this cup of wine, is my blood poured out for you. So eat! Eat in faith that it is finished; that the deed has been done. Eat in remembrance of my costly sacrifice. Eat with joy and thanksgiving, knowing that I am the LORD your God who called you up out of death and into new and eternal life!”
“My Lord and my God!” Was all I could say.
So I ate, drank, and cried. Only, with tears of joy with my Saviour.

Today, Christians around the world celebrate the resurrection of Jesus who is Christ (that is, saviour). Jesus, who is both fully man (so that He could identify and relate with us) and fully God (so that He could bridge the great divide between us sinful beings and the one and true holy God), lived the perfect life we couldn’t live, became the perfect sacrifice and payment for sin on the cross, and resurrected from the dead three days later, ultimately defeating sin and giving death the death blow, so that whoever believes in His saving work on the cross will be saved from their sin, and will be saved for Jesus’ kingdom purposes. Such a wondrous gift of grace can only be received by faith and can never be added to or taken away by our own (imperfect) works.
We declare that Jesus Christ is risen! Happy Easter! 😊

--

--