Trying something new

Gordon Baty
UX Bridge
Published in
2 min readMar 2, 2021
A man sitting in a rocket working on his laptop
Illustration by Faina Shpiler

I have found myself with an unintentional motto recently. I like how it appeared with little hand wringing or deliberate analysis. If I had set out to create a motto on purpose it would have been an agonizing process to wordsmith something that represented me, my personal brand, had meaning, drove action, struck an inspirational note, spoke to years of experience etc etc. In other words I would probably never make it to the end!

Yet I find myself saying this phrase and it has a good ring: “Trying something new.”

We are running a design workshop for the 20th time. “Trying something new” helps us keep the formula fresh.

The way we staff designers on teams needs to change. “Trying something new” helps us take baby steps in the direction we need to go.

We are bringing our stakeholders along in a design process that challenges them to think in uncomfortable new ways. “Trying something new” takes their anxiety down.

We’ve been working steadfastly on a design challenge for months, progress is steady but it’s a marathon. “Trying something new” helps us get sustenance and potentially identify an angle we previously missed.

Is it the be-all-end-all of mottos for design? Probably not, but it is serving us well, especially during this difficult time that heaps pressures on us.

Oh and look — we are trying something new right here. Sharing some thoughts and learnings from our own design journeys.

--

--

Gordon Baty
UX Bridge

Human centered designer, expert synthesizer. Endlessly fascinated by humans. Including my adorable kids!