Whatsapp Case Study for message forwarding cases

yugant arora
UX Case Studies for Digital Products
3 min readDec 10, 2018

Right now, whole world knows what is WhatsApp despite of age segment. Infact, our parents & grandparents have started using WhatsApp now. Whatsapp is increasing it’s influence day by day. It becomes need now or for some becomes necessity who do business on WhatsApp.

Currently WhatsApp is having atleast 1.3 Billion monthly users, 55 billion messages sent per day, 4.5 billion photos sent per day, 60 languages supported, 1 billion videos per day, 1 Billion daily active users.

Source: http://fortune.com/2017/07/28/whatsapp-one-billion-daily-users/

This data is 1 year old right now it might be more but if we see the fact these really are huge

numbers. So in this case study I really want to talk about mistakes people do while forwarding messages.

MY CASE WHY I AM DOING THIS

So, this has happened with me once I was sending some content briefly those were some TV ads which should not be shared with family members or family group. I was sending that content to my friend’s group but accidentally I sent that content to my cousin’s group. Yes, I could have deleted that content but I realized it after 20mins when all of members have seen that content. This scenario had motivated me to write a case study on it and ask user if they had done same.

MY RESEARCH

Now, I have asked the same question to some known people did same thing happened with them? I did a formative testing with some of questions. Well, 1 out of every 5 people said that yes this happened that they accidentally sent wrong message to someone in family or they sent a message which was not meant to be sent to that person.

So, let’s assume 1% of of the total might having this problem so actual numbers will be 1,50,00,000. These numbers are huge who might be facing this same problem.

PEOPLE’S EXPERIENCE

I have changed the names of people they might don’t want me to feature their name here & picture.

SOLUTION I THOUGHT

While starting a group an option can be given which will ask whether this group is for friends or family. Once you select it as a family group or freinds group so you will be able to share data between these groups with a confirmation.

Once group is made you will be able to share data from family to friends group and friends to family group but with a confirmation saying — This is a family group. Are you sure you want to share data to this group? You can change it by edit option. This can you do to the Individual recepient also by marking him as family in edit option. Below are mocks for better demonstration.

This is just a case we can use it as general as well where we will use green and red. Green will be shared in red with a confirmation & red will shared in green with a confirmation which can be used for Individual as well not just group.

I hope you like this idea & thanks for devoting your precious time. ❤

--

--

yugant arora
UX Case Studies for Digital Products

Product Designer. UX Designer. UI Designer. Visualizer. Traveler. Photographer.