Don Norman’s levels of design Assignment => User Experience — Day 27

Blessing Orazulume
UX Design for a Novice
2 min readOct 15, 2018

1.0 Recap

I haven’t studied much in the past few days 😒. This is because I got stuck while trying to understand the design levels and UX in general. It became overwhelming and I had to take a step back to truly understand what I have been studying.

2.0 Assignment

So today, I looked at an assignment regarding the levels of design by Don Norman and here is my response.

Please provide an example of each of the three levels of the emotional system and state how they have affected your own use and adoption of a product or service. Use no more than 5 lines of text for each level!

2.1 Response

  1. Visceral design
    A personal example for me would be my love for black, grey and brown.
    When I want to buy a product, most especially clothing items, I make a rapid judgment once I see the colors that excite me. It’s an emotional response which is determined by my senses, in this case, sight or vision. Visceral design is all about an attraction that captures the user’s attention.
  2. Behavioural Design
    Another personal example would be an ISP I use at home. Even though the internet speed is considerable good, the downtime I experience always irks me. In this level of design, it’s all about the user’s experience and user’s expectations.

“Bad user experience, no matter how good your product is, can cripple users’ expectations, drive anger & frustration which ultimately results in users not using your product.”

3. Reflective design
A personal example of a reflective design is the OnePlus series phone. I use it, and a handful of my colleagues use OnePlus. I think myself and my colleagues are in love with the product not just because of its beauty or its attractiveness, but because of the image it represents, along with the bond and relationship myself and my colleagues have formed around OnePlus phones.

3.0 Resources

The best way to learn is by asking questions and letting people know how you understand the topic. Feel free to leave a comment, we will definitely learn from it🙂.

--

--