Can I keep up with this challengešŸ¤”? Day 1

Blessing Orazulume
UX Design for a Novice
3 min readSep 15, 2018

1.0 Introduction

Itā€™s good coming back to writing and documenting new things I learn šŸ’ƒšŸ½. Last year, I learned a ton about Virtual Reality which I documented here. It was an amazing experience and I fell in love with the storytelling part of it. You can check out my capstone project from the VR Udacity Nanodegree.

Right now, Iā€™m looking at sharpening my skills in User Experience and one day pursue a career as a UX researcher, Interaction designer or a Product designer. Iā€™m starting a 100-Day challenge. It sounds cliche but I found out that doing this challenge allows one to stay motivated and measure oneā€™s growth. I had to prepare myself for this and this is greatly inspired by Jehoshaphat.

2.0 What made you interested in UX?

Photo-credit

Iā€™ve always loved listening to people, talking about their problems and finding ways to proffer solutions to these problems, it might not be the best solution. But yeah, I think it stems from my personality type, INFP being a mediator šŸ˜Ž.

On a serious note, I love thinking through a problem as a user who is going to use my product or service. It allows me to have a global view of what they need. Also, as a big picture thinker, I like to have a holistic idea of what products or services satisfy a user and taking the responsibility of developing these products.

3.0 Why are you documenting your process?

I found out that documenting my learning process has helped people who doubt that they can be good at something, believe in themselves no matter their level. As long as you are consistent and you remain true to know whatever you are learning.

Also, I found that it has helped me a lot to put down my thoughts in writing because itā€™s really hard for me to communicate what I know face-to-face.

I also want to use this medium to get mentors and people who have incredible and vast experience in this space to share more and help people like me to have a good understanding of what UX entails. I believe having individuals who have extensive knowledge in this field can help newbies develop the skill and knowledge.

4.0 What resources are you using?

Photo-credit

My core resource at the moment is from the Interaction Design Foundation. They have great content. If I want to get a deeper understanding of a particular topic, I would share more resources on it.

5.0 What do you want to achieve by doing this challenge?

I want to be able to stretch myself and develop the skill of succinctly giving an explanation of a complex topic in the way I understand it. Also, I want to create opportunities for sharing ideas and a new way of looking at the subject matter.

Most of my write-ups will be a 2ā€“3 mins read. It will be a structured learning path for me and anyone who wants to learn about User Interface and User Experience.

The best way to learn is by asking questions and letting people know how you understand the topic. Feel free to leave a comment, we will definitely learn from it.

Letā€™s begin!!šŸ„‚

--

--