Matt Carvalho

Frank Rapacciuolo
UI / UX Design Interviews
6 min readJun 23, 2014

--

I am a Senior Interactive Art Director & Designer working at Character with more than 8 years experience.

When your friends or parents ask to you what job do you do, how do you answer?

This is one of those questions that, for some reason, is often difficult for me to answer. I try to do my best to explain that I help brands tell stories on a range of screens that you can either click or touch.

What is your background, how did you train?

I was very fortunate to have a father who was a graphic designer by trade. I used to watch him paint outdoor boards by hand in our living room and I remember thinking that was the coolest job in the world. That really helped me realize that I could pursue a profession designing and making things. I would later go on to graduate from the Art Institute of California — San Francisco with a bachelor’s degree in Advertising.

What the web can do to make this world a better place? How did the web improve your life( if it did)?

I think the web gives power to people. It affords us the opportunity to create and sell goods or ideas to each other without needing much more than an internet connection and a passion to create beautiful things. The web connects us. It makes the world a smaller more connected place.

Can you show us three examples of interface that in your opinion improved human life?

Door handle, light switch, toilet handle

On quora.com, time ago there was a long discussion in answer to the question “what is the most intuitive interface ever created?”; according to Felipe Rocha it is the nipple, in your opinion instead? (http://www.quora.com/What-are-the-most-intuitive-interfaces-ever-created)

Wow, I’m not sure exactly what the “most intuitive interface ever created” is but I think the traffic light has probably helped save a life or two throughout the years.

How is your work day type?

My work day begins by listening to sports radio on my way to work. There is something very calming to me about talk radio in the morning. Once I get to the office I usually check in with my design team to make sure that we are all working towards the same goal. I really like working closely with my team, they are all so talented and it inspires me to become better. So, if you guys are reading this, thank you for pushing and inspiring me to be a better designer!

Once we’re all on the same page, I usually try to work efficiently with minimal distractions. I find I am more dedicated to the craft if I am free of distractions.

It’s also worth noting that I drink plenty of water during the day. It is important to stay hydrated.

What is the most stimulating and challenging project you have accomplished?

Redesigning the Character agency website. It was very challenging to design a brand experience for a company that designs brand experiences.

What is, among the existing digital services, the one you wanted to do?

I have been working on some digital projects that actually “help” solve problems the world is facing. I mean, don’t get me wrong, designing photo sharing apps is fun and exciting but I’m not sure they are really solving life threatening problems.

Many designers commit the mistake of starting a project directly from Photoshop, is there a perfect design method? What is your approach to the creative process?

I’m not sure a “perfect” creative process exists. Technology and tools change so often that it makes it very difficult to find the perfect process. I think it’s more a matter of figuring out what the best process is for the problem needing to be solved. I’d say that being nimble and fluid is better than having a rigid approach to process.

Luckily I am surrounded by very smart and strategic people at Character. The human is an important part of the process that is often overlooked. I feel that having designers and strategists with different perspectives is more important than a strict process.

The “design” is an important part of our analogic life. What is the role of the designer in our digital life?

To me the roles are the same. Design is about solving problems and it doesn’t matter whether they are analog or digital problems being solved. Good design is good design.

Do you believe it is important for a designer to have a deep knowledge of matters as User Experience, Interaction Design, Product Design, and Front-end development?

I think having a knowledge of all aspects of the medium is a must. The degree to which you focus on one more than the other depends on the role of the designer. To me personally, User Experience is most important.

In which way do you make a difference between User Interface and user experience?

The user interface is the application of the findings from the user experience.

What is your relationship with the developers? There are people that have a relationship of continuous confrontation and other of deep friendship, where do you collocate with respect to this question?

I love developers. The more you are able to work closely with them, the better the experience will be. I think most of the designers I know feel this way.

How do you think that your career and job will evolve in the next 5 years?

I think that the design challenges that I will face will shape the course of my career. If I was to guess, I will probably be designing more digital experiences that connect to physical objects. I just hope that I am able to keep learning from the amazing people I get to work with everyday.

A famous quotation of David Carson (noted American graphic designer) says: “Graphic design will save the world right after rock and roll does”. Will the User Interface Design save the world, before, at the same time, or after the graphic design?

I’m not sure user interface design will change the world before or after graphic design, but I don’t think it is a matter of what comes first. There are many problems that need to be solved in the world, and I’m just thankful that design is able to solve some of them.

What do you think about Dribbble? Is it a good way to get a job? What’s the best way to find a job as designer?

Yeah, dribbble is great! Those guys have done a great job over there and I am thankful that the design community is able to connect through their product. I am very thankful for dribbble.

What book would you advice to a Junior Designer?

Talent is Overrated by Geoffrey Colvin. It has nothing to do with design, but rather teaches them about work ethic and purpose. The real path to great perfomance is a matter of choice.

Always as far as advices: what tools for the design? What tools for the projects management ?

There are many tools that are available that can solve the needs of the designer and the project manager, so long as both parties are able to communicate, that is what matters.

Useful tips: Trust yourself and have a point of view.

Dribbble : https://dribbble.com/mattcarvalho

Website : http://mattcarvalho.com/

--

--