Svilen Petrov

Frank Rapacciuolo
UI / UX Design Interviews
6 min readAug 15, 2014

--

Hello, my name is Svilen Petrov. I am User Interface designer and illustrator from Bulgaria.

Hello, my name is Svilen Petrov. I am User Interface designer and illustrator from Bulgaria. Drawing has always been part of my life and my very first childhood memories are related to drawing. Apart from drawing, since 2008 I am professionally involved in the creation of Web and User Interface design. Additionally, I am a Co-founder of Sm-Artists.com.

When your friends or parents ask to you what job do you do, how do you answer?

I have always found this question quite complicated and time-consuming for me to answer. Most of the times when I answer this question mentioning the word “designer”, for some reason people often imagine a professional who makes clothes. On the other hand, when I mention “illustrator” people usually think that I draw pictures. In an effort to explain them what exactly I am doing, I am sometimes misunderstood and the people get bored. I have to admit though that it has always been easier to explain what exactly I am working to my friends. At the end however, all the people I speak with, get the impression that I am doing something interesting, which is the best part of the conversation. ☺

What is your background, how did you train?

I have to admit that I actually studied on my own, having nobody around to help me. One of the reasons for this could be that when I chose this career path, there was no one to point out to me the “right direction”. When I think about it now, my first PC was a 4GB HDD. Thus, every project I completed, I needed to record on a CD in order to have some free space, necessary for Photoshop to run. I would say that the desire for development, the availability of plenty of time, spent for useful lessons on Internet and the opportunity to practice were the key for me to become a professional.

What the web can do to make this world a better place? How did the web improve your life( if it did)?

My opinion is that Internet is a way for development, which can be useful for designers to help them faster realise their ideas. A designer can use Internet to compare his/her level of proficiency and meet with other people sharing your interest. What is more, Internet could be useful to find a better job, and most importantly — to learn.

On quora.com, time ago there was a long discussion in answer to the question “what is the most intuitive interface ever created?”; according to Felipe Rocha it is the nipple, in your opinion instead? (http://www.quora.com/What-are-the-most-intuitive-interfaces-ever-created)

I think that this is Skype`s interface and I would say that using it does not provoke your thinking in any way.

How is your work day type?

I start my day very early, enjoying a cup of hot coffee. Few seconds later, you will find me creating a list of tasks, which I need to focus on, during the day. I need to do this, because I am distracted easily and if I do not stick to a plan, usually I forget to do something important. ☺

What is the most stimulating and challenging project you have accomplished?

Weather & Time App is one of my personal projects, starting from the concept to design and iconography. This is one of the interfaces that I think in the right direction for my personal and professional development. I would like to express my extreme gratitude to Søren Sørensen for realizing it.

Weather & Time App http://bit.ly/1AaNPmI

What is, among the existing digital services, the one you wanted to do?

Illustrations and UI / UX

Many designers commit the mistake of starting a project directly from Photoshop, is there a perfect design method? What is your approach to the creative process?

- I am not quite sure that it’s the “perfect way”, but I would say that when a person wants to realize his/her idea, they should first do their research, sketch the details and then move over to Photoshop.

The “design” is an important part of our analogic life. What is the role of the designer in our digital life?

The role of a designer is, I would say quite important, as this is the person who visualizes the ideas and helps the others to understand them easiler. Following this point, we should keep in mind that the designer is expected to speak a bit less about the job he/she is doing and rather present it to the others. ☺

Do you believe it is important for a designer to have a deep knowledge of matters as User Experience, Interaction Design, Product Design, and Front-end development?

Yes indeed, I think that this is a must, as the designer needs to know that the project is feasible and once realized it will be useful. However, the more experience a designer has, the better are the results of his/her job.

Find Your Team https://www.behance.net/gallery/16359627/Find-Your-Team

In which way do you make a difference between User Interface and user experience?

In my opinion we need to look more generic on the matter, searching rather for the similarities in the UI and UX, rather than the difference between these two fields. I believe that this will increase the productivity. ;)

What is your relationship with the developers? There are people that have a relationship of continuous confrontation and other of deep friendship, where do you collocate with respect to this question?

Quite often a developer stops the progress of a good project. I am saying this both in terms of its` design and functionality. A reason for this could be that human imagination is far ahead of technological process? A great advantage would be attracting a person who has the know-know and is not afraid to experiment. In my experience there are many software programs, created by developers, aiming to empower the designers to do everything at their own. But will this turn all the developers into designers, who knows?

How do you think that your career and job will evolve in the next 5 years?

In the next 5 years, I hope the change will lead me to a more positive direction, where I be working a bit more independently , as part of a good team.

A famous quotation of David Carson (noted American graphic designer) says: “Graphic design will save the world right after rock and roll does”. Will the User Interface Design save the world, before, at the same time, or after the graphic design?

I would not hesitate saving the world, I would rather design a new, better world.

What do you think about Dribbble? Is it a good way to get a job? What’s the best way to find a job as designer?

To be honest, Dribbble is one of the reasons why I got employeed. To find a job as a designer, I would say that hard work of a high quality is just a little part of it all. More valuable than this are: knowledge of new trends, opportunities to stay in touch with top designers and eagerness to constantly learn and read information on the matter.

FIFA Legend http://bit.ly/1jDsif5

What book would you advice to a Junior Designer?

I am not very sure, which book to recommend that will be the most useful for young designers, but I would say that Google Search will definitely help them to find source of inspiration for everything that interests them. I am still learning from Dribbble and Behance.

Always as far as advices: what tools for the design? What tools for the projects management?

For design: We only need a pencil, some paper and Adobe products. In terms of project management, I would say that the tools are not the most important, as long as there is good communication between the designer and the client.

Dribbble : https://dribbble.com/spovv

Website : www.SM-artists.com

--

--