My Unique Experience From Design to Full-Stack Development

Is it really hard?

Olha Bahaieva
UX Designers Club
Published in
7 min readJul 21, 2023

--

unDraw illustration

It's been a while since my last post. The reason for the so long pause is my ongoing learning of full-stack development. Don't worry I'm still UX/UI designer:). But I am going through a really hard educational journey that I want to share with you today.

First, I want to remind the major reason why I decided to learn full-stack development. My goal was to be able to design and develop products myself. This is why I started this crazy educational journey that continues today.

I started my learning in November 2022, and I thought that it would be a great experience. But I was so wrong and here is why.

Development Breaks Your Design Mindset

Last year when I just started my full stack development education I thought that I am a senior designer and I can learn anything so let's learn.

My very first block of education, was, HTML, and CSS. And I was lucky because it was the technology that I was learning. Previously, it was easy for me to learn something familiar to me already.

The only challenge for me was to understand responsive design because it was kinda hard for me, but I was able to handle it in the end.

--

--

Olha Bahaieva
UX Designers Club

Lead UX/UI Designer, Mentor, UXDC Founder • UX/UI Design • Get 100+ UX/UI design tools collection: https://olhabahaieva.ck.page/52893cef89