A UPI ID for every utility bill account

What an Idea Sirji!

Umesh Gopinath
UX in India
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2018

--

My FASTag experience got a huge boost last month. I got an SMS from ICICI bank saying my FASTag account now has a UPI ID - MyVehicleNumber@okicici. I almost cried tears of joy seeing this. This not only meant that I can now add money into the FASTag account in a jiffy, but also that I don’t have to deal with their “an Indian computer engineer’s fantasy come true” web interface anymore.

This made me think. Why shouldn't I have a UPI ID for every utility service account for easy bill payment? Earlier I wanted all my utility bills to be paid using NEFT, using my online banking interface, but an UPI ID would be the most ideal for this. This is how it would work…

  1. I get my electricity bill in my mail.
  2. As part of the payment options they would give me a unique UPI id, just for me.
  3. I open Tez, enter the UPI ID and pay. Boom. Done.
  4. No messy registrations in bank websites and waiting for bills to appear. No more having to deal with electricity department’s shitty online payment option.
  5. As this UPI ID is reusable, Tez would save it, and next time I can just tap on it and pay. Even simpler.

This should work with my electricity bill, water bill, mobile bill, PayTM recharge, DTH, insurance premium (every policy will have a UPI ID), credit card bills, BBMP tax payments… any recurring bill payments.

I think this is the best use case of UPI payments; recurring payments to the same UPI ID for bill payments. Even better than using it as an online payment option, which is a one-time thing.

This would make Indian lives so much easier.

--

--

Umesh Gopinath
UX in India

ex Design @newtonmailapp, Geek, Blogger and Amateur Photographer