Facebook News Feed — Short research

Adil Siddiqui
UX in India
Published in
2 min readMar 12, 2018

I generally don’t like to take a dig at any product and try to make it better because I know there are valid reasons why a particular product/feature is built/designed in a certain way. And those reasons are only known to the people involved in building the product.

Having said that, I was doing short research on Facebook News Feed. I decided to share a snippet of it.

Many people I interacted with had one common problem with Facebook (which I agreed to). They are not happy with how their News Feed is filled with pages, ads, events, groups, and recommendations.

Although some of them liked that it helps them discover relevant content, the primary reason they open Facebook is to connect with friends and family. Currently, those updates are buried between 100 other posts.

Although, you can create a list with all the people whose updates you want to see. That process is tedious and complicated. Most of the users are unaware of it. Why would an average user create a separate list of their friends to see their posts? That’s the whole point of Facebook anyways.

While I was doing the research, I thought about a simple solution that can allow a user to conveniently browse their friend’s posts under one place without any clutter. Which can be achieved by introducing tabs. One of the tabs populates the feed with everything, just like how it is currently.
The other tab will populate your feed with your connections posts and nothing else.

PS: I know Facebook will never do this; from a business stand point it won’t make sense. This was a small part of the research I’m doing.

That’s all, folks :)

Thanks for reading

I’m Adil Siddiqui, a Digital Product Designer. Also, a hand-lettering enthusiast.

Twitter | Instagram

--

--