UX hack #1

Sumit Dagar
UX in India
Published in
1 min readJun 10, 2018

I am a fan of wireframes. I think there’s no better method to judge a flow. As a UXer, we need to deliver an optimised flow that satisfies functionality first, then add visual designs that can communicate those flows effectively. But if the flow doesn’t work, nothing works. Hence, wireframes.

One of my mentors taught me a simple and effective rule: Wireframes means wireframes. No color!

I have come across number of shortcuts from designers to workaround this effort: from using symbols from visual library to create “realistic” wireframes, to scanning paper wireframes, to putting a grayscale layer over visual mocks in Sketch. But this one wins the cake:

Make display grayscale. Everything is a wireframe now!

--

--

Sumit Dagar
UX in India

Design Leader at Intuit. Ex head of design at 1mg, hike messenger. Creator of Braille Phone. TED Fellow, Rolex Laureate, Echoing Green Fellow.