Design Systems, Sprint Weeks and other UX Snake Oils

Christian Beck
UX Power Tools
Published in
7 min readFeb 4, 2019

--

If you clicked on this article because the title got your blood boiling, then go make a cup of chamomile tea. It doesn’t get much better from here.

Ok, are you calm? Sitting down?

Then let’s get started. I hate being contrarian just for the sake of it. But I’m also totally comfortable being the guy that voices an unpopular opinion at risk of my peers despising me. I’ll also say that while this article is about to be critical of some very popular techniques, trends and methods; I still believe in all of them to some extent. My goal is to just give us all a little dose of reality (and humor) about what’s behind these things. And after reading it, you can go back to preaching the gospel 🙏.

Design Systems

Obviously I’m starting with this one. And before you start scrolling down and writing a “well actually…” comment, know that I’m a believer. Hell, I co-founded UX Power Tools solely to help people to build design systems faster. But design systems are a means to an end, not the end itself. A great product that succeeds in market and is usable is the hallmark of great design, not a great design system.

Sprint Weeks

I could write about this for pages. Suffice it to say that while I love the concept, I’m not sure…

--

--

Christian Beck
UX Power Tools

By day, executive designer at Innovatemap where I help tech companies design marketable products. By night, co-founder of UX Power Tools.