Designers: What are you thankful for?

From products and services to thought leaders in the industry, there’s a lot to be thankful for.

Jon Moore
UX Power Tools

--

With Thanksgiving approaching here in the USA, I thought it would be nice to give some thanks to those who make our jobs easier and more meaningful.

I’ll start us off. Leave your thanks in the comments below and, when possible, tag the companies or users you’re thanking using Medium’s @reply tagging feature.

Products

  • I’m thankful for Medium for building a platform and community of brilliant minds to encourage more people to talk and teach.
  • I’m thankful for the whole team at Sketch for building one of the industry’s best product design applications.
  • I’m thankful that InVision continues to build out a best-in-class ecosystem of products to encourage team collaboration between designers, developers, PMs, and entire product departments.
  • I’m thankful for Muzli, Panda, HeyDesigner, Designer News, and Sacha Greif of Sidebar.io for spreading thought-provoking content, and giving everyone an equal chance to be in the spotlight.
  • I’m thankful for Product Hunt for helping so many companies (like my side project!) get started. (cc: Ryan Hoover).
  • I’m thankful for Slack and, more importantly, the GIPHY integration. Our team chats wouldn’t be nearly as entertaining without you ❤️
  • I’m thankful for Trello on behalf of my product managers, because I really hate how much work they give me.
  • I’m thankful for Sketch Hunt and Sketch App Sources for directing me toward stunning design resources that help make me look like a better designer than I actually am 😜

People

  • I’m thankful for Filip Procházka, and other early adopters of UX Power Tools who gave us tremendous feedback to help us build useful resources for product designers.
  • I’m thankful for Kristin Hillery for writing and syndicating wonderful content for the InVision blog, and helping me feature a couple articles.
  • I’m thankful for Michael Wong and his awesome newsletter of curated articles, original content, and personal stories about design and entrepreneurship.
  • I’m thankful for Emin Inanc Unlu and his incredibly detailed Sketch tutorial articles.
  • I’m thankful that Fabricio Teixeira writes Medium articles in English AND Portuguese. It’s really incredible that you’re trying to serve multiple design communities.
  • I’m thankful for Julie Zhuo for her leadership in the design community, and for using her influence and expertise to teach others.
  • I’m thankful for Kiki Schirr for her incredibly detailed and entertaining posts, drawings, and charts.
  • I’m Amanda Rosenberg for making me laugh out loud and spill my coffee when I really shouldn’t be reading Medium articles.

This year has been a year of growth, experimentation, and learning.

I want to especially thank all of YOU for your comments, thoughts, and critiques. You didn’t always agree with what I had to say, and that’s okay! But I appreciate you speaking up and joining the conversation.

Let us know in the comments below who you are thankful for. Products…services…people…whatever!

When I’m not goofing off on Medium, I’m working on Sketch tools at UX Power Tools to make you a better, more efficient designer. Follow us on Twitter @uxpowertools. Follow me too if you want!

--

--