Tiny Trends

Tiny Trend #10: Gold UI

Long considered hard to use in web design, a new gold standard emerges

Christian Beck
UX Power Tools
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2017

--

Look, I know I’m not the best with colors, but gold pretty much always looks brown to me in web design. It misses that luminance that it has in the real world — making it appear more yellow. But hey, who am I kidding, I haven’t seen a gold block in my life. I think it’s something like this?

It’s one thing to have gold in your graphics, illustrations or logos. But it’s even more challenging to use gold in actual UI elements without it looking…well, gross.

Here’s a growing list of aesthetically-pleasing applications of gold.

Robinhood Gold

When I’m not gold plating my design work, I’m working on Sketch design tools at UX Power Tools to make you a better, more efficient designer.

Follow UX Power Tools on Twitter
Follow me on Twitter

--

--

Christian Beck
UX Power Tools

By day, executive designer at Innovatemap where I help tech companies design marketable products. By night, co-founder of UX Power Tools.