Tiny Trends

Tiny Trends #2: Off-Center Alignment

Dashes of flair to kick your designs up a notch.

Jon Moore
UX Power Tools

--

Nope, don’t adjust your television. Off-center mobile interfaces have been popping up, and I’ll do my best to interpret UX potential instead of begging for symmetry like the designer in me wants to.

I’ll say one thing: They’re certainly handy for handedness. That is, designers have recognized the physical limitations of us short-thumbed primates and shifted all of the UI to one side. The whole dang thing.

Some designers combat the off-centeredness by bleeding the element off the edge of the screen, just like you might do for a full-bleed print design.

Anyway, onto the edgy designs. Here’s what I’m seeing.

by V。

When I’m not writing, I’m working on Sketch design tools at UX Power Tools to make you a better, more efficient designer.

Follow UX Power Tools on Twitter
Follow me on Twitter

--

--