Things I found on the web this week (4th October)

Jenny Brown
UX Qatar
Published in
2 min readOct 4, 2018
Image from: How user research guided our design for an AI assistant

This week: I love the new InVision blog, or ‘design publication’ as they like to call it, lots of UX stuff including what makes a UX Writer, how to get simple things like birthdate fields right, plus a brilliant podcast telling stories of tech entrepreneurs in developing countries.

Here are the things I found interesting on the web this week.

Happy reading!
@jennybee

// DESIGN THINGS

Introducing the new InVision blog: Inside Design

“Over the last few years, the InVision Blog has grown to be so much more than a blog — it’s a design publication.” And they’re rolling it out incrementally so if you can’t see it yet check back later! It’s worth it :)

// AI THINGS

How user research guided our design for an AI assistant

“The human-centered design process is made to help you handle ambiguity. If you follow an in-depth research process, you can uncover solutions for any problem.”

// UX THINGS

Bad Practices on Birthdate Form Fields

Sometimes you just have to go back and make sure you have the basics done right.

Who’s a UX writer?

“Over the past few years, a fairly new term has started popping up on job advertisements and descriptions. For those in the UX community, it might be old news, but for others, it’s a completely new term: the UX writer.”

User Stories: As a [UX Designer] I want to [embrace Agile] so that [I can make my projects user-centered]

“Let’s examine a tool so simple yet so powerful that once you’ve learned about it, you will apply it in all your projects.” Bold words indeed!

// ENTREPRENEURSHIP THINGS

How I used design thinking to grow my business startup

“I recently found myself at a crucial point where I knew I had to scale my business but I wasn’t sure where to start…” But here’s how this founder did it.

Revolution of Necessity

“A podcast that shares the stories of tech entrepreneurs in developing countries.”

Compiled with ❤️ in Qatar

Every week I read stuff on the web that I think would help Qatar-based tech startups design and build brilliant products. I save up all the interesting things and publish them here, and send them out via tinyletter.com/jennyellenbrown

--

--

Jenny Brown
UX Qatar

Director of Digital Experience and Digital Transformation at Qatar Museums