Review: Lucidchart

UX Design @ UW
UX@UW
Published in
3 min readMar 8, 2012

By Diego Bejarano

Not too long ago I started using an online diagramming app called Lucidchart, which allows real-time collaboration in the creation of workflows, wireframes, mind maps, organizational charts, UML diagrams, and site mockups. I’m here to report that so far, for the few projects I’ve used it, it’s been quite helpful.

Each member of our team prefers different tools when it comes to drawing workflows, diagrams or mind maps. Some of us rely on classic applications like Illustrator or Photoshop, while others prefer Omnigraffle. I wanted to try out Lucidchart for the advantage it provided in being an online tool that I could use anywhere I had a computer with a browser and internet access.

The Good Stuff

Before I started using Lucidchart, I had my doubts. I thought an online web app could not really compete with the features of a full-blown diagramming application like Omnigraffle or Microsoft Visio. I was surprised by the number of features Lucidchart supports, like simple drag and drop, hundreds of shapes and fonts, revision history, compatibility with all the major browsers, import and export to Visio and PDF, and integrations with Google Apps, Confluence, JIRA and Jive. And while I haven’t tried it, I also hear they have a new iPad app.

Lucidchart interface

But the real selling point that attracted me to Lucidchart was its collaboration and sharing capabilities. I can create a diagram and share it with a colleague straight from the interface. We can both also work on drawing a diagram in real-time, while we group chat. Because sometimes we are required to collaborate remotely, as mentioned previously, the live collaboration feature was specially enticing.

Lucidchart sharing menu

Working at an educational institution has its advantages too, since Lucidchart offers a free educational license for you and your team at your college, department, class or IT unit. The free educational accounts offer the same premium features found on the paid team accounts, so you’re not missing anything.

Easy Lucidchart drag and drop

The interface is easy to use, and simple to learn. Having used complex programs like Photoshop and Illustrator, Lucidchart seems like a stroll through the park with basically no learning curve. Once you’ve used it a couple times, you get the hang of it and can start drawing diagrams just as good if not better than the ones create with other more expensive and complex applications.

Conclusion

While I’m not uninstalling my copy of Omnigraffle from my computer just yet, I will continue using Lucidchart for my diagramming needs since it makes it so easy to collaborate with my fellow designers. Now, to get the rest of the team using Lucidchart, that may be a small challenge.

Have you used Lucidchart? What do you think? What’s your favorite tool for drawing workflows and diagrams? Tell us in the comments.

--

--

UX Design @ UW
UX@UW
Editor for

User Experience (UX) design at the University of Washington.